Picked up Free Ski 1996 Sea Doo SPX w/Dual Trailer

Wassup yall? I have been looking to get one of my old ski's back, 1996 Sea Doo XP. Made a few trips this spring to check out a few but nothing ever panned out. Uncle calls me the other day. He acquired for free a 1996 Sea Doo SPX. Close to what I have been wanting, so I went and picked it up. Has a tandem trailer that needs a little TLC, but it made it from North Myrtle Beach back to Charleston SC.

I have had ski's all my life. Had a 1988 500 CC Waverunner, 1992 Waverunner III, and a 1996 Sea Doo XP. I also use to manager a water sports company that rented ski's, para-sailing, etc...

We had a full time mechanic at the watersports company, as most of my time was spent on the water. I have a 100 Ton Master Near Coastal USCG Commercial License. I am not super mechanical but can turn a wrench.

Here is what I have discovered so far and what I was told about the ski.

Owner had it rebuilt (so that's what I'm told) and it stopped working on him and he gave up on it. It has sat. Current registration expired in 2011. There does not appear to be any fuel or oil in the tanks. Spark plugs were in hand tight and appears to be some type oil in the cylinders? Almost looks like car motor oil, not two stroke. Had no battery. Hull had a lot of 2S oil in it, so much, I decided not to drain the oil in the until I the ski to my work before installing new battery. Thermostat also is not melted, so that is a good thing. I plan on disconnecting the oil and going to premix. Also, the exhaust pipe has liquid weld on it probably from where some type of hole was created? You can see in picture # 2. Also, the choke is loose from the T handle and the choke cable is in the engine compartment, but still functional.

I brought the ski in today, tilted it up and it is currently draining out the drain plug in the hull. At lunch, I plan on putting the battery in and seeing if it will turn over?