Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    tick.. tick.. RXPteamtimebomb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    726
    +1
    13

    springs on factory pipes?

    just a question and I'm sure its a dumb one, but I don't know so thats why I'm asking! I saw a picture in Polaris Performance of Factory Pipes on a ski and noticed springs where they attatch to the motor, the Factory Pipes on my ski do not have these springs and I know they are pretty shaky and rattle around and must be tightened frequently yada yada yada... howcome mine don't have these springs? oooooo and I won't have my ski for a couple weeks now.. found out my ski was a recalled RXX (just my luck) and got in contact with BRP through my work and they are sending a new hull, it is shipping out either tommorow or Tuesday... but hey, brand new hull!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0092.JPG 
Views:	488 
Size:	1.35 MB 
ID:	20431   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	polaris with pipes.jpg 
Views:	219 
Size:	242.5 KB 
ID:	20432  


  2. #2
    tick.. tick.. RXPteamtimebomb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    726
    +1
    13
    tt

  3. #3
    tick.. tick.. RXPteamtimebomb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    726
    +1
    13
    anyone?

  4. #4
    Matthew K ReDevilRXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Lemont, IL
    Posts
    2,477
    Ill take a stab at this but im not an expert so use ure best judgement

    It could be that the pipes arent solid connected to the engine. Theres some "give" in the connection so all the vibration from the engine doesnt go through the pipes? Another, could be that there just easier to take on and off. i know ive seen similar connections on dirt bikes and Nitro r/c cars.

  5. #5
    tick.. tick.. RXPteamtimebomb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    726
    +1
    13
    i figured that... was just wondering if it is bad to have them directly bolted to the engine.. too much stress?

  6. #6
    2Blue's BFF! dsolie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    832
    +1
    1
    It's because of the slant in the motor, and the way the 951's torque when stabbing the throttle. Ross tried it originally, but ended up with a solid connection. Never broke a bolt on my twins yet!

  7. #7
    tick.. tick.. RXPteamtimebomb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    726
    +1
    13
    thanks dsolie! just looking for answers! glad to hear they are working out well for ya

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. opinions on factory twin pipe setup for 951?
    By nick230 in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 08-03-2016, 11:43 AM
  2. factory pipes on gp800r 2001
    By wavedemonx in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-30-2009, 12:48 PM
  3. EGT probe on factory pipe tripples?
    By pilo704 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-29-2009, 10:29 PM
  4. Factory Pipe Spec 2 complete system on ebay
    By boatloadfun in forum Sea Doo Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2008, 08:48 AM
  5. Factory Pipe on a 02' GTI 720?
    By VetteTech81 in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-18-2008, 08:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •