+1

Aquiring couple jet skis

There are 2 polaris jet skis that have been abandoned near my house. The shop owner took them in as payment and then he moved to FL and left them. They are on a double trailer and that is my main reason for getting them but I may try to repair the skis if possible. My question is how would I go about registering the skis if I did get them running? I might be able to locate the shop owner but I doubt he even has the paper work for them. I live in NC.

+1
    As a law enforcement officer in Missouri, I have some knowledge of this. The simple answer is the laws are designed so that you can not register them without getting a title release from the person who has them registered in their name. This is to detour theft of motor vehicles and watercraft. In Missouri you would have to register the trailer as well but that varies in state to state.

The only exception is if you get a judge to sign off on a title release which is very difficult in Missouri. You have to have a better explanation than the one you gave, There would have to be a death of the owner or divorce settlement for a judge to become involved.

Your best bet is to find the registered owner of the ski's and trailer and have them sign a title release or give you the title for them. You can contact DOR for the persons name and do some research to locate them.

Understand this is Missouri law so some of what I am telling you vary on your state. Also in Missouri, you must register them within 30 days for the trailer and 60 on the watercraft. If the watercraft or trailer have been reported stolen at some point, you can be charged with receiving of stolen property. (just a fair warning)

So I would check to see if they are stolen and if not, parting them out and selling them is really they only option you have. Maybe use the funds to buy you a watercraft that can be titled in your name.

Best of Luck.

+1
    Varies completely by state, as above mentioned,