Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie need help with purchase of ski. Yamaha FZS vs Sea-Doo RTX 260

Hey guys i'm new to PWC, ridden a few times never owned. I just rode a friends Sea-doo not sure which model, he said it was 300hp SC, it was really fast but didn't see a 300hp model on their site.

I am looking for something that i can tow a floatie behind and maybe do some wake boarding. I was debating between Yamaha and Sea-doo, i know i posted in the yamaha section and might get some biased responses but there is only 1 sea-doo dealer in Colorado while there are 3 yamaha dealers here, so i think i can probably get a better price on a yamaha.

the 3 skis i've looked into are the Yamaha FZS, Sea-Doo RTX 260, and Sea-doo wake pro 215.

Can someone recommend me a ski that will fit my needs? or the pros and cons of each ski? I really like the looks of the sea-doo, especially with the reverse function and the brake (not sure how often i would use it), also i know the wake pro there is a ski mode where it will ride at a constant speed and be easier for wake boarding. Can you do towing sports on the FZS or should i find a different model in the yamaha line up?

thanks guys

Look into the FX SVHO or the Kawasaki 310LX. Both are 3 seat ski, tons of HP and will ride great for you. The FZS would be nice as well, however, if you are looking for a good family ski that will tow good, I would go with the FX SVHO or 310LX. The 310LX will cost you a bit more, but I think both skis would be nice for what you are looking into doing.

o okay i'll look into that, i've never boughten a PWC before, is it expected that the consumer pays close to MSRP? or is there room to work? what would be considered a good deal? also is the trailer separate? I would call and ask the dealer but apparanatly no PWC dealer opens on monday. so weird

on the dealer's website there are FX SVHO, HO, VHO, are they all the same?