New 1995 SLX owner

I recently bought a 1995 SLX that appeared to be in good condition except the battery and oil injection not working. It appears to be well maintained, very clean in the engine bay. I bought a battery and put in premix fuel. With a little starter fluid help, it started right up. It runs very well (55 plus according to speedo) and takes off strong. I have ridden it 3 times for about 45 minutes each. It has started and ran well each time.

I have a couple of questions since I am new to pwc riding. First, is it ok to continue running premix without removing all of the injection system(the pump seems hard to get to). It is not using any oil from the tank and runs nice.

I weigh about 230 pounds. The ski almost seems as if it is barely floating when sitting in the water or very slowly moving. Is that normal for this particular ski? Under power it glides along high in the water. It is not taking on large amounts of water during my ride time. It does get a little in the bilge area, but not enough that I think it is a problem. I think it is ok, but due to my inexperience I want to hear from someone who knows about them.

I have read a lot on this site and it is very good and very helpful.

Thanks to you guys for your information and help.

Does no one have any words of wisdom for me?

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by pneblett View Post
    Does no one have any words of wisdom for me?
    Busy forum, sometimes posts get missed.

The SL hulls do ride low in the water. It is common to have some water over the rear deck.

Not sure how much water you are seeing inside the hull. There should be bilge siphon(s) that suck out water when the jet pump is running in the water. So you should not be seeing any more than maybe a few cupfuls of water inside. Certainly not gallons.

I presume you have seen my signature links, especially the section for new owners.