Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    rxpblast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ocean City, MD
    Posts
    2,113

    air intake question

    today i began to take out the stock air intake. i took the front thing off that goes right under the glove box area. my question is about taking the air intake off of the SC. am i supposed to take all that hoseing off which goes from the SC up to the front ontop of the gas tank which has some waringing on it?..... and if i do, where is everyone putting all the wires and stuff that are connected to it? thanks for the help


  2. #2
    Moderator Franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    3,829
    +1
    2
    You have to snip the zip ties that hold the wiring harness to parts of the stock air intake system. You also have to unfasten the rubber straps (2 sets) around the gas tank. Be careful when you pull the air intake out because you can damage wires if you try to simply muscle it out. Good luck. That is one pain in the ass job.

  3. #3
    rxpblast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ocean City, MD
    Posts
    2,113
    once u take it out though where do the wires go. just let them hang loose?

  4. #4
    Moderator Franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    3,829
    +1
    2
    They will just lay on the bottom of the hull. You can re-route and zip tie them, but I didn't bother to do that.

  5. #5
    rxpblast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ocean City, MD
    Posts
    2,113
    thanks Franko.....time to go take all of it out then!

  6. #6
    EZ Dock of Long Island Shibby1485's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    9,466
    +1
    3
    na.. put all those wires under the rubber gas tank straps... then secure the straps over the wires. will hold them in place nicely. or u can ziptie the wire bundles to the gas tank straps...

    ur gonna need to make a mounting bracket for the rectifier which is currently bolted to the air box.... i called Riva to buy their bracket for a couple bucks, and when they told me they would sell it to me for like 25 bucks for the bracket, i decided i can manage to make my own damn bracket and use the 25 bucks for gas or something.

  7. #7
    Moderator Franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    3,829
    +1
    2
    Shibby's right, gotta move the rectifier. Riva's kit puts it next to the battery on the rear of the hull side.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Air Intake Questions!
    By RudyJ in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-22-2007, 06:16 PM
  2. R&D Cool Air Intake Question
    By Gatorcountry in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-03-2007, 08:47 AM
  3. Another air intake question.
    By VaRedneck in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-29-2007, 05:18 AM
  4. Air intake question
    By North49 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-11-2006, 09:44 PM
  5. Cold air intake questions for the brain trust........
    By SKR8PN in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-24-2005, 05:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •