Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    CHINE WALKER nicor6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Mahe
    Posts
    376
    +1
    43

    RIVA stage 1 kit ride plate

    hey guys, recently purchased the riva stage 1 kit, and the ski porpoised A LOT! i have seen a previous post regarding same issue but there wasnt a reply for a fix for that, apparently it was said it is the ride plate that is causing the porpoise @ high speed..My question is..how do you go about setting up the plate? should the rear be flushed with the intake grate??


  2. #2
    ken02766's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    44
    +1
    1
    deleted.

  3. #3
    THE PLATE MAN JIM'S PERFORMANCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,194
    +1
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by nicor6 View Post
    hey guys, recently purchased the riva stage 1 kit, and the ski porpoised A LOT! i have seen a previous post regarding same issue but there wasnt a reply for a fix for that, apparently it was said it is the ride plate that is causing the porpoise @ high speed..My question is..how do you go about setting up the plate? should the rear be flushed with the intake grate??
    you want the front of the plate to be about 50 thousands higher than the transom plate, and you can add 50 thousands shims in the back that will help with the porpoise.

  4. #4
    Lakeside518's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Clifton Park, NY
    Posts
    265
    +1
    16
    You used the factory plates correct? Also use the supplied shims if it came with them. My Riva plate did not come with shims. Shim the rear of the plate as stated above.

  5. #5
    ken02766's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    44
    +1
    1
    Second that, shim up the rear of the ride plate to create more lift on the transom or bolt your stocker back, those modded plate sucks, my buddy almost fell off from his bouncing ski at 65 mph.

  6. #6
    THE PLATE MAN JIM'S PERFORMANCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,194
    +1
    536
    Don't think he stated he had a modded plate. Just a stock riva one.

  7. #7
    silver93t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,064
    +1
    49
    I'm running an R&D plate on mine. Just bolted up with no shims it porpoised a decent amount at high speed. I put the stock shims on and added a stainless steel fender washer under each of the rear bolts and it is much better. When you shim the plate make sure you have enough threads. You may have to order longer bolts, depending how much you shim the plate. I usually get stainless allen head bolts from McMaster.

  8. #8
    CHINE WALKER nicor6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Mahe
    Posts
    376
    +1
    43
    Yeah, I kept the stock shims that came with the ski as riva stated, and 2 more shims provided with the plate @ the rear..It porpoise a LOT

  9. #9
    CHINE WALKER nicor6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Mahe
    Posts
    376
    +1
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by JIM'S PERFORMANCE View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by nicor6 View Post
    hey guys, recently purchased the riva stage 1 kit, and the ski porpoised A LOT! i have seen a previous post regarding same issue but there wasnt a reply for a fix for that, apparently it was said it is the ride plate that is causing the porpoise @ high speed..My question is..how do you go about setting up the plate? should the rear be flushed with the intake grate??
    you want the front of the plate to be about 50 thousands higher than the transom plate, and you can add 50 thousands shims in the back that will help with the porpoise.
    that is how much in mm sir?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. be carefull riva stage 2 kits
    By two2curupt in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 09-16-2005, 11:24 AM
  2. Riva stage 2 kit
    By Jaye in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-30-2005, 09:56 PM
  3. Where should trim be with riva stage one kit
    By macattack in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-30-2005, 09:46 AM
  4. riva stage 1 kit problems
    By macattack in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-28-2005, 05:08 PM
  5. Riva Stage 1 kit (how long does it take to install)
    By macattack in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 04:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •