Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

2000 YAM GP1200r - 2nd Engine / 3rd breakdown

Hello all, I am new to Greenhulk and learning how to work on a 00' Yamaha GP1200r two stroke engine.

After rebuilding the top end from SBT, blocking off the oil pump and using premix, I have another engine failure after less than 10 hours on the ski.

When purchased, it already had a rebuilt motor so I was happy to have a motor with low hours on it. However, after only 8 hours the motor was gone. When inspecting the engine my father came to the conclusion that the oil line came off the third cylinder.

We replaced the top end from SBT, rebuilt the carbs, installed a block off kit and started pre mixing the fuel. It ran like a champ until I made the poor decision to tow my brother-in law's boat with the ski back to shore. I went slow and steady but felt what I was doing was no bueno.

Now I have blown engine #2 (3 total) and the cause is unknown. The engine did not fail while towing the boat. Instead it failed the time after. I was taking it out for one last spin after riding it for about 30 min and it just died in the middle of the lake with no warning signs.

We have pulled the engine for a second time and pistons 1,2 and 3 are scared up with 1 broken ring and a broken rod clip - as you can imagine, no compression to two cylinders and one very low. The catalytic converter was in two pieces (did not know the condition of the catalytic converter from the 1st breakdown).

The engine has not locked up yet, rods and crank seem to be in good working order. We will know the condition of the crank after we either buy the coupler wrench and flywheel holder or pay the local dealer to remove it for us. We hope to get some advice from the mechanic during that process.

There is no doubt the ski is running lean. I took precautions through the break in period and mixed 32:1 with proper winterizing when it sat up in the winter.