Austin, TX

Rebuilt gp1200r that DIDNT blow up

Seems like every day I see new posts from guys posting failures after fresh rebuilds on the gprs. That shouldn't be. I have 30 hours since I rebuilt mine this winter and it runs like a champ. I tore mine down to every part nut and bolt though. Didn't cost a lot, but did take a month and a lot of hours. In the end its worth it. Little things go out of sorts I know right away. I know the ski and engine very well, its sound, its ride, its feel. I wouldn't trade my gpr for a brand new ski right now. I'm not an expert. Last September I bought the gpr. My test ride was the first time I'd been on a jet ski. I'll write this up once. This was my rebuild checklist, but it was based on my research here. Some might say i missed some steps, others might think I went overboard. you'd both be right, but this worked for me. Everything I chose here was based on what is already written here, and by talking to a few of the experts that I'm grateful spent quality time educating me.

background, I had a complete failure. Bought the ski in bad shape for a song, water ingestion, past rebuilts, missing bolts. you all know the drill. It failed beautifully blowing a rod through the crankcase.

1. pulled the engine... completely.
    2. started with a used crankcase. tapped all holes with WD40 to clean the threads. Cleaned all mating surfaces to bare metal with a straight edge and wd40... carefully.
    3. picked up a very low hours used crankshaft. Yes used. I got it from a pro shop, and it was very clean.
    4. all new OEM crank seals
    5. Cleaned every bolt with a wire brush on my drill press. Clean bolts and clean holes are key. Torque specs are paramount. Cruddy thread mates can cause a bolt to torque too soon. If all the threads are clean, the bolt doing its job at its torque spec.
    6. Assembled crankcase per oside bills writeup