Orlando, Florida

Please, I need some guidance on putting a 04 waverunner xlt 1200 back together.

This is my first time working on a jetski... I have no previous experience. Also, my first time writing on any forum.
    However, I am an Automotive Technician so, I decided to take on the task and fix it since I have all the tools and have always fix everything myself.

Long story short, My sister took the ski to the lake and left it ON ( outside of the water for a few minutes ) until jetski started beeping.
    It is a 2004 Yamaha Waverunner 1200XLT with about 50 hours.

I have already remove and visually inspect the exhaust, cylinders, lines and clamps from the oil injection pump and they were in good condition.
    ( I found a broken catalytic converter that I will replace with a D Plate ). ( I will be reusing the pistons and rings)

My questions are:
    1) should I take the cylinders to the machine shop and get it machined to make sure they are straight? Or should I just install new gaskets?

2) I been doing some research and it seems like buying wave eaters is the way to go. ( Have anybody tried the $30 wave eater from ebay? ).

3) I have clean the block by sucking all the old oil and water. How do I know how much oil do I have to pour in the engine before closing everything up or what is the correct process ?

Any help will be appreciate it... Thanks in advance.

Houston, TX

1) OEM cylinders are Nikasil plated and cannot be machined w/o redoing the plating. If they look fine to you (can't feel any scratches), then reuse them as-is. Post some pics of each jug and someone will help determine if they are sleeved or OEM. The fact you still had a CAT means it's likely you are first one into the motor, and the cylinders are probably OEM. Use new gaskets everywhere.

2) Yes, wave eaters or SBT lever links. Clean the power valves while you are at it. After reassembly make sure the power valve controller is working.