Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

I wanted a project, looks like I got one!

Hi folks, name is Dave, and yep I'm a pwc noob.

So last week I found a 93 xp on C/L for $350 with a junk trailer. I had been looking for another project and kinda been thinking about a buying a pwc. So I went and looked at it and we settled on $300.

Now starts the journey of problems, I'm loving it.

- Ski hadn't been registered in 6 years, and had been sold 3 times in that time. I was the fourth. P/O had it on the water earlier this summer though. It was interesting getting it registered.

- It needed a starter, bendix had come slap apart. Ordered one, cleaned all the metal shavings out of mag area, and installed starter when it came in. It fired right up and ran good on the hose! Cleaned fuel/water filter, new plugs, fixed oil line leak. Now we're getting somewhere.

- Warmed it up and checked compression. Mag cylinder was 148 and pto was 150. Good enough for a town this size.

-Repaired the trailer, replaced wheel studs, re packed bearings, painted it. Good to go.

- Yesterday we loaded up headed to the lake house (in-laws), make it about three miles and a tire on the trailer lets go. No biggie, I'll get new tires Monday. NOPE! Wheel rusted out, New tires and wheels on the way.

- Drug it back to the house. Paw-in-law comes and saves the day with his trailer.

-FINALLY get to the water. Runs like a scalded cat! For about 25 minutes anyway. It dies about 700 yards from in laws. He towed me in. I checked the fuel/ water filter and it had a lot of junk in it. Cleaned that out and we're off again( I stayed close this time). Ran good just tooling around, so I decided to let her eat awhile. Nope, died again. Towed in again. Fuel filter again. This whole sequence happened on more time after this.

- I said to hell with it, I'll clean the tank tomorrow at the house and pull the carbs to clean also. Started drinking.

So we swam and ate and drank. Good times for an Alabama redneck!