Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    TK423's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    47

    Maptuner locked?

    I got my Spark back from the dealer after getting the handlebar and wire harness recall work done. When I went to tune it with my VTECH again, it said wrong software. I then took my Maptuner inside and plugged it in to my computer to check for updates (which there looks to be 2 new tunes) and now it says maptuner locked. It also tells me to contact my reseller.


    Anybody else running into this?


    Thanks!


  2. #2
    GasResearch-VT.SE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,172
    +1
    207
    Congratulations.

    You didn't brick your ECU!

    The dealer performed a software update.


    If you would have tuned it now, you would have to send your ECU to a master-tech to perform brain surgery on your ecu.


    Please send an email to:

    [email protected] with:
    Your VIN number
    Your registered email address you use for maptuner

    And ask him to unlock it for you.

    He will then check the reason for lock and if it is as it appears, it will be unlocked.



    THEN...

    Goto the ski and do a fresh "request tuning" on the ski, then plug into the laptop and check for updates.


  3. #3
    TK423's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    47
    I got an email saying he is on vacation. Is there anybody else who can help me? Thanks!

  4. #4
    GasResearch-VT.SE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,172
    +1
    207
    I will make sure it gets done. Send me quick pm with your email address.

    Cheers

    Or text it to +61 417550418

    The office is unattended this week only but the guys are still working

  5. #5
    Michel @ Vtech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    66
    +1
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by TK423 View Post
    I got an email saying he is on vacation. Is there anybody else who can help me? Thanks!
    I Am, but I try to check mails every now and then. I saw your email and have replied on it and unlocked your Maptuner.
    When you have synced Maptuner so it gets unlocked you need to make a new Request on Ski and then mail me so we can delete old request before you sync this new request to server.
    Then we will activate the request manually.

    Reason for the Maptuner to lock is because of new SW in your ECU probably after they did an update on the Ski.
    So Maptuner Locks itself to save your ECU. Safety feature and nothing wrong.

    Thanks

    Michel, Vtech

  6. +1 by:


  7. #6
    Thanks for that feature Michel and everybody out there, sure appreciate that feature

  8. #7
    JohnSWE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    158
    +1
    25
    That's really smart. You've been thing about it all.

  9. #8
    TK423's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by Michel @ Vtech View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by TK423 View Post
    I got an email saying he is on vacation. Is there anybody else who can help me? Thanks!
    I Am, but I try to check mails every now and then. I saw your email and have replied on it and unlocked your Maptuner.
    When you have synced Maptuner so it gets unlocked you need to make a new Request on Ski and then mail me so we can delete old request before you sync this new request to server.
    Then we will activate the request manually.

    Reason for the Maptuner to lock is because of new SW in your ECU probably after they did an update on the Ski.
    So Maptuner Locks itself to save your ECU. Safety feature and nothing wrong.

    Thanks

    Michel, Vtech

    Thanks for your help. Everything is good to go!
    Last edited by TK423; 08-12-2014 at 09:25 AM.

  10. #9
    So we need to update the Maptune software after dealership ? I'll visit my dealer tomorrow and I already have 109hp tune.


    please advice Michel or someone else what I need to do after

  11. #10
    Michel @ Vtech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    66
    +1
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Kicker View Post
    So we need to update the Maptune software after dealership ? I'll visit my dealer tomorrow and I already have 109hp tune.


    please advice Michel or someone else what I need to do after

    If dealer makes an SW update on your ECU.
    Then Ski will be stock again, and also have a new SW version in the ECU.
    Maptuner detects if there are SW changes and will lock if you try to flash the ski after SW changes on the ECU.

    If dealer makes an SW update you will you need to make an all new Request on the ski with Maptuner.
    Before you sync the new Request to server, you need to mail us so we can delete the old request that already is on server.
    When new request is uploaded, we will manually activate the License to the new request.

    Instead of blocking ECU for future updates.
    We have programmed the Maptuner to detect if there are SW changes in ECU, If it detects another SW than the request was made with, Maptuner will lock itself.

    It locks as a safety feature instead of bricking the ECU when trying to flash wrong SW on to it.

    If you or someone else gets an SW update on your craft and need help.
    Mail us your Username and VIN number. We need this to be able to help.

    Best regards// Michel, Vtech

    [email protected] and or [email protected]

  12. +1 by:


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone ever get a message on their Vtech "MAPTUNER LOCKED"??
    By boostedgta in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-04-2014, 03:04 PM
  2. Rxpx260 locking my vtech maptuner ?
    By wheelerjetsport in forum Sea Doo ECU Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-2014, 07:41 AM
  3. maptuner locked
    By chokehold in forum Sea Doo ECU Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 12:46 AM
  4. Intake Grate-Lock Washers
    By HoopsRXT in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-07-2006, 09:55 AM
  5. PADLOC has me locked out reset doesn't help - HELP!
    By Byteme in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-03-2006, 01:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •