Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Was I taken?

Was I taken?

I am not a mechanical-type person. I have never done my own engine work. I have skills, but engine work is not one of them. So I ask your advice.

My Yamaha 2000 XL1200 engine has run fabulously for the last 10 years since I bought it - never a single problem. Then I stripped the spline on the driveshaft. While being replaced, they had to move the engine off its mounts and remove the exhaust. They reported that they found a piece of the exhaust valve in the silver exhaust barrel and that they found that the center exhaust valve needed to be replaced. I authorized the work and paid $2,000 for all of it. This is not my question, but just the background.

I put the Waverunner in the water and ran it for 11 minutes when the engine died suddenly. It would not turn over at first. Then after a few minutes, it started and went 100 yards and died again. Repeat, repeat. Then I found if I opened the choke, it would turn over several times, close choke, then I would get about 400 yards. I got back to the trailer loading dock this way.

Without looking at it, the repair shop said it was bad gas and bad plugs. Sold me new plugs, and fuel conditioner. AND THEN TOLD ME TO GO BACK OUT ON THE WATER AND JUST RIDE IT HARD. There might have been some water in the lines, they told me.

I did this, but it would now not run more than 50% - 25 MPH max when I can normally get 50 MPH. At least I was able to get it to run for about 5-10 minutes. But I was doing what I was told to do. Then the engine died and nothing could get it going again. I had to be towed back to the dock by the sheriff.