Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    +1

Exclamation The Bug, wipeouts, and making it out alive...

OK, after pulling Denis out of the water and packing him up on a helicopter last weekend, I've been doing a bit of thinking about high speed and how easy it is to get hurt.... BAD. And with so many people that will be hitting 80+ at the 'Bug (myself included), some even over 90, the potential for serious injury is pretty high. So unless we have someone who will be there from a local rescue squad, I might need to appoint myself the Mudbug medical officer (I'm a trauma nurse). I'm asking for a bit of help here, and some feedback....

First, ideally... if anyone going to the Bug will be from one of the local rescue squads, it would be great to have a rescue vehicle on site. It would be equipped with everything we need. Jerry, you would know better than anyone else if any of the local attendees are with the fire dept.

If not... I think the biggest danger to us all will be spinal injuries (That or gator bites). So at the bare minimum, I'm gonna insist we have a backboard with straps and a cervical collar ready for anyone who wipes out hard and we suspect might have spinal damage. Having one available would have made getting Denis to the shore a lot safer and quicker last week. Transport to an ambulance via a PWC or boat could make a spinal injury worse if we can't stabilize the spine; it really can be the difference between walking out of a hospital and being rolled out. I'm sure that there are more medical personnel besides myself that will be showing up, so are there any EMT's that can bring a backboard? Or can anyone local borrow one from one of the fire departments? If it comes down to it, I'll steal one from the ER and drag it with me from Florida. I can come up with some collars, that's not an issue. If anyone can come up with one, let me know.