'01 polaris tx only runs with bilge button depressed-HELP?

My '01 Polaris tx will only run with the bilge pump depressed. Let it go and it shuts down. I just replaced the s/s module. No change. Any ideas??/ I am new to this (forums) I sure hope I did this right. Thanks in advance....

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    You replaced the LR-505 Start/Stop module, correct?

Is this a genuine Polaris part or aftermarket?

Check that you have battery voltage on both Red/Purple and Yellow wires to the module with the engine not running.

This is a carburetor engine, correct?

Battery new and on tender....yes carbureted....voltage at red/purple and yellow...no voltage at orange until bilge depressed then voltage when depressed....lanyard in have no voltage at orange when starter depressed....possibly defective new module....module received was in "pure Polaris parts" bag sealed. //???

+1
    Check voltage right at the Black wire for the LR module. It should read zero volts relative to engine ground.

I am wondering if the LR module is actually grounded.

Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post
    Check voltage right at the Black wire for the LR module. It should read zero volts relative to engine ground.

will check tomorrow...I think I checked that today and it was .65mv, close to 0. there are three black wires coming out of module, black, black/white and black/yellow (I think). black goes directly to a ground spade the other two go to same color wiring going to different items in cdi box. I will check and run a separate ground (alligator clips) tomorrow as well and see if runs. is there any way to "fake" the module to run? I am also going to make sure that the lanyard switch is working as well. I did the other day but will retest. I appreciate your info....and help....

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by truckerpup View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post