Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

PWC versus NEWBIE build thread.

I have never owned a boat much less a jet ski. My son found one cheap and knew I have always wanted one to cut my teeth so we bought it. I will likely have a ZILLION questions for the group so I thought I better start a thread for the rehab on the ski.

A little info on the ski.
    South Texas ski moved to up to North Texas.
    1996 Polaris SL900 Domestic with hours currently unknown.
    The ski sat about a year before I purchased it.
    Ski was a runner till hull filled with water (has ran since swamping) due to missing plug. E-box is separated and shows some wiring damage.
    Pictures,videos coming soon.

First question. The e-box on the ski was separated when I got and shows damage to some of the wiring (ground to mag housing is smoked) and the connector board. My question is since I have to rehab all the internals in the e-box has anyone relocated theirs somewhere other than over the battery? I'm no mechanical engineer but over the battery wouldn't have been my first option.

Thanks everyone!!

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

If you have not been there, see my signature links for lots of useful info.

I am not sure why Polaris located the electrical box on top of the battery, other than the limited places inside the hull that are clear of the driveshaft and the vibrating engine. Certainly the plastic cover for the battery is critical to avoid accidental short circuits to the metal shell of the electrical box. This is the typical cause of burning up the black stator 'ground' wire.

Some Polaris models have the electrical box mounted elsewhere, you can mount it wherever you want as long as the mounting is robust and the wiring stays out of trouble with moving engine parts.
    Last edited by K447; 09-28-2014 at 11:53 AM.

+1

Battery cover/location