Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    DH300's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    1,149
    +1
    217

    V tech or R&D R-3

    which of these would you recommend for stock class closed course racing?
    I was planning on going with a V-tech over the winter until I read where it said I would need to modify the exhaust, which would not be legal for stock class. what makes the V-Tech need exhaust mods where the R-3 does not? Thanks in advance for any help.


  2. #2
    Banned User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,329
    +1
    152
    .
    Last edited by Rocketman; 10-09-2014 at 09:54 PM.

  3. +1 by:


  4. #3
    "just sayin".. jetdave56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    JERSEY SHORE
    Posts
    4,494
    +1
    617
    DH go with R&D ,yes your gonna have to go with a SCOM too (stock legal) as VTECH advertises their reflash with addition to ignition timing advance and fuel curves overrides the speed limiter so no SCOM needed..

    But R&Ds long winning record in racing and their constant dedication to these skis ,Glenn and Bill Chapin I feel make a good and safer performance product,though there's always a risk with whoever when these engines are put to maximum..

    Recently R&D had casting issues with their intake grates on the Ultra 300 But Glenn redesign and improved it...that's dedication

  5. #4
    DH300's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    1,149
    +1
    217
    thanks for the help, guys. I am leaning towards the R3. Are there any other Reflashes out there worth looking into?

  6. #5
    You won't need a SCOM with the R&D ride plate I don't think. I'm pretty sure that the Ride Plate tricks the ECU limiter to think the Skinis going slower than what it really is. If you don't have of don't want the Ride Plate then yes, you will need a SCOM

  7. #6
    DH300's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    1,149
    +1
    217
    Quote Originally Posted by Sambo310R View Post
    You won't need a SCOM with the R&D ride plate I don't think. I'm pretty sure that the Ride Plate tricks the ECU limiter to think the Skinis going slower than what it really is. If you don't have of don't want the Ride Plate then yes, you will need a SCOM
    Thanks for the info, sambo. I definitely plan on going with the R&D plate. Using it by itself, though, scares me a little. I'm not sure about this, but It seems to me like getting the plate alone would have the same effect as the washer mod. It is constantly messing with the timing which ends up melting pistons. This is just an assumption, though and may not be true once you flash it.
    Last edited by DH300; 09-30-2014 at 10:03 PM.

  8. #7
    "just sayin".. jetdave56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    JERSEY SHORE
    Posts
    4,494
    +1
    617
    You need the SCOM with an R&D plate if you wanna get past 68mph,the washer mod or metal plate was used before the SCOM was designed ..

  9. #8
    Take the time to smile sirbreaksalot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Brisvegas
    Posts
    4,157
    +1
    598
    Over here , you cant use a SCOM in stock class .

    but you can use a reflashed ecu ...Go figure

    thats why the Kspeed makes the most sense

    Waz

  10. #9
    GZA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    423
    +1
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by sirbreaksalot View Post
    Over here , you cant use a SCOM in stock class .

    but you can use a reflashed ecu ...Go figure

    thats why the Kspeed makes the most sense

    Waz

    Same here in NZ.

    Just get the K-speed and be happy

  11. #10
    nicjak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Warragul, Downunder
    Posts
    7,794
    +1
    625
    um where did you read this? sure you dont mean stock out of the box class?

    Quote Originally Posted by sirbreaksalot View Post
    Over here , you cant use a SCOM in stock class .

    but you can use a reflashed ecu ...Go figure

    thats why the Kspeed makes the most sense

    Waz

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. WTB - Parts Urgent super tech or Riva valve train
    By otoss in forum Sea Doo Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-25-2013, 04:45 PM
  2. then ... V-TECH or RIVA Anthena?
    By Impulses in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 04-15-2013, 05:57 PM
  3. V-tech or r&d reflash
    By 1fastrat in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 05-24-2012, 10:07 AM
  4. V-tech or R&D
    By flipsfzr in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 12-21-2011, 09:27 AM
  5. 16 or 19 Amp Battery?
    By GreatLakesJK in forum Polaris How To & FAQs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-2009, 07:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •