Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

New to forum - Upgrade Kawasaki 250x to 310x SE ?

This is my first year owning jet skis. I bought a pair of 2008 250x ski's (stock) last winter and put 40 hours on both of them this spring/summer on an inland lake in Michigan (usually low wake/flat). I'm still riding through fall and into winter thanks to a drysuit, which is fantastic as the lake is entirely empty now. The 250x's are great ski's and a great value for the $5500 each I spent on them at ~45hrs each (now at 87hrs each), but I have had some issues...

One 250x has been flawless, sounds great and accelerates hard up to 62-63mph with me (I'm 6'6'' 260lbs so not the lightest rider). The other ski was sold to me (in winter when I could not test it) with a blown supercharger ($2.1k replacement). I took the opportunity to put on a new intake grate and impeller (sorry I don't recall which). The result was it was actually slower as it just didn't hook up and accelerate out of the hole as well. The grate definitely helped, especially in tight circles, but the impeller (flat blade IIRC) spun too freely and had issues catching and would over rev the engine to redline as a result while not really accelerating properly. It was slower in a drag by two ski lengths and only did 59-60mph top speed. I am in the process of putting the stock impeller back on now.