Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

MikeR397's 2014 Seadoo RXPX and review

I am new to jetski ownership after moving to an inland lake this spring. I purchased a pair of Kawasaki 250x skis and put about 40 hours on each this summer. They were a blast, but I was looking for a diversity of ride and found a fantastic end of season deal on a new 2014 Seadoo RXPX with rebates and a 4 year warranty and pulled the trigger. I couldn't be happier with the Seadoo!

The RXPX, while only a few horsepower more powerful on paper than the 250x skis, is an entirely different animal in acceleration and top speed. Out of the hole is dramatically stronger and more responsive and true to manufacturer spec, stock top speed is 67.5mph on gps (the gauge says 69mph at 8040rpm for what it's worth), compared to my 250x ski's which could barely break 60mph with me riding (I am 6'6'' and 265lbs though so not the lightest rider). I'm at 6 hours now on the RXPX by the way, so it's mostly broken in.

Then you get to the turning which is out of this world and something I never thought possible on the water. The narrow sport seat is a huge improvement and the key to taking advantage of the deep V T3 hull to really rip turns. I actually made myself nauseous pulling so many horizontal g's the first couple times out. The agility of the RXPX is what makes it such a blast and so much more enjoyable than any other ski I've ridden (including the 2014 SVHO which is the fastest ski at 71+ mph stock with me on it, but I don't fit well on the tiered seat and that creates a nervous ride feel and difficulty taking aggressive turns). The PX in comparison lets you lock in your legs and turn on a dime. I couldn't be more impressed with the handling, truly.