Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Best way to find the source of an oil leak on 1200GP

Hi All!

The great news is that I found the ski I was looking for, a 1999 Yammy 1200 SUV but I just found a small pool of oil in the engine well. I know these setups are known for having bad oil line connections (I have new lines and metal hose clamps on the way) but I do not believe that's the culprit. I have inspected the lines, zip ties, and line terminals and they are intact.

So my question is what other common sources of oil leaks are these known for if there is such an answer? I'm a total noob so I also have to ask what a good way to clean these engines and engine bay would be. I checked the manual and there wasn't anything useful.

Thanks!

Thanks! Some pics included in case they help.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1827.jpg 
Views:	74 
Size:	104.1 KB 
ID:	346240Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1869.jpg 
Views:	70 
Size:	101.4 KB 
ID:	346241Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-10-31 at 11.56.56 AM.png 
Views:	65 
Size:	1.00 MB 
ID:	346238Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-10-31 at 11.55.39 AM.png 
Views:	66 
Size:	1.16 MB 
ID:	346242
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-10-31 at 11.54.45 AM.png 
Views:	61 
Size:	945.9 KB 
ID:	346239  

+1
    When I clean the inside of my hull, I put laundry soap in the front and rinse it down. It can sud up pretty bad though, so make sure it doesnt get to the carbs. Your tank might be cracked.. clean it really good and let it sit for a couple days and see of the oil returns.

+1
    Any degreaser should work pretty good as well.

Thanks Reaper. I do intend to clean it really well so that I can track down where the oil is coming from. Do the rear drain plugs connect to engine bay? Its not clear from my manual.

yes

+1