Thread: RXP Engine Swap

lake lanier, GA

RXP Engine Swap

I'm in the process of a complete engine swap on my 04' RXP. I didn't see a whole lot of RXP engine swap threads out there so I thought I'd start one also as a way for me to ask questions as I have them. I'm a amateur mechanic with just enough skill to be dangerous but no were near a professional. I'm kind of learning as a go along with this project.

Here's what happened, during the summer I took the ski out in the salt water when I was on vacation for the first time. Not 15min. into my ride the ski broke down completely luckily I wasn't to far from the beach and I had to swim it in a couple hundred yards. Anyways, it ingested a mix of sand and salt water all throughout the engine and the spark plug in cylinder #1 broke at the threads and metal shards ruined that cylinder as well.

So far... Supercharger removed, throttle body, ECU, fuel rail, water box removed. The drive shaft was giving me issues trying to get to that C-clip so I removed the impeller unbolted the motor mounts and moved the engine forward finally got to the C-clip and removed it. Now, I still can't figure out how to remove the drive shaft still giving me problems any ideas?

Also, looking for input.. while I'm going to all this trouble I'm thinking of making some upgrades to the ski mainly I want to install the black magic headers and run strait pipes out the back to a thru hull exhaust think that would sounds B/A? Also, thinking about installing a simple BOV from Riva racing to reduce back pressure and because BOVs sound cool I think as well?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1476.jpg 
Views:	97 
Size:	98.3 KB 
ID:	346461   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1477.jpg 
Views:	99 
Size:	96.2 KB 
ID:	346462   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1478.jpg 
Views:	97 
Size:	65.2 KB 
ID:	346463   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1479.jpg 
Views:	135 
Size:	109.1 KB