Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1

    CandooPro GPS Speedometer on VXS didn't work

    Just curious if anybody has used this product on their VXS/VXR with success? I got two of these for both my VXS' and they didn't work. I called the folks at CandooPro and apparently there is an issue with the VXS/VXR. They seem like good folks over there but I was curious if anyone else with a VXS/VXR tried the product with success. I'm sending these units back for a refund but I truly hope they can make one that works on my skies because those speedo wheels SUCK!


  2. #2
    whats the issue?

  3. #3
    when I power up the ski it flashes up 50 the random numbers like 4 then 50 then 6 then 50 then 36 and so on. It never read the speed at all when I went on the lake. It does it on both skies so it's not the ski. The guy at Candoopro said it sounds like a power problem with that model of ski (VXS/VXR). I guess I'm the lucky guy to find out that it doesn't work on those (my) skies. He also said it works great on the FZ without issue.

  4. #4
    big john's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Cocoa Beach, Florida, United States
    Posts
    3,395
    +1
    598
    mine works intermittently, will show 50 and i will let it power down, restart it and it work just fine after that, sometimes just shows odd speeds, then starts to show dead nuts on. im just happy it works most the time. BTW my whole vxs drivetrain is in a 2004 GPR hull, truly the best of both worlds

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by big john View Post
    mine works intermittently, will show 50 and i will let it power down, restart it and it work just fine after that, sometimes just shows odd speeds, then starts to show dead nuts on. im just happy it works most the time. BTW my whole vxs drivetrain is in a 2004 GPR hull, truly the best of both worlds
    Well, I'd be happy with that but I'm gettin useless readings out of the things so back they go I guess. Bummer.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    763
    +1
    26
    Same with my 2013 Vxr. Something about voltage fluctuations trying to shut it off. I think the fix is to hard wire it to battery and use speedo wire. Winter here. Hope they get it fixed cause it can be nice when it works.

    happy holidays.

  7. #7
    OzarkYamMonster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Lake Of The Ozarks
    Posts
    2,152
    +1
    295
    Has anyone purchased & used one a two stroke yet/ I have a 2008 Yamaha GPR, am about to take the plunge .... thought it might replace my hand-held GPS ????

  8. #8
    Ski Hacks MG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5,253
    +1
    990
    Quote Originally Posted by slingshot View Post
    I guess I'm the lucky guy to find out that it doesn't work on those (my) skies. He also said it works great on the FZ without issue.
    How does it work on the FZ when the FZ only has analog gauges?

  9. #9
    big john's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Cocoa Beach, Florida, United States
    Posts
    3,395
    +1
    598
    Quote Originally Posted by CCW View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by slingshot View Post
    I guess I'm the lucky guy to find out that it doesn't work on those (my) skies. He also said it works great on the FZ without issue.
    How does it work on the FZ when the FZ only has analog gauges?
    ive got the autometer unit in my other gprsho with the fz gauge and it works fine except it tends to lose signal when turning hard or in the twisties

  10. #10
    Ski Hacks MG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5,253
    +1
    990
    Quote Originally Posted by big john View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by CCW View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by slingshot View Post
    I guess I'm the lucky guy to find out that it doesn't work on those (my) skies. He also said it works great on the FZ without issue.
    How does it work on the FZ when the FZ only has analog gauges?
    ive got the autometer unit in my other gprsho with the fz gauge and it works fine except it tends to lose signal when turning hard or in the twisties
    Autometer unit?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Candoopro announces sales of the GPS Speedometer Modules
    By CANDooPro in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 138
    Last Post: 10-19-2016, 07:08 PM
  2. Replies: 94
    Last Post: 05-18-2015, 08:56 PM
  3. CanDooPro’s Plug-and-Play GPS Speedometer Upgrade
    By Rustymuscle in forum The Watercraft Journal
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-18-2014, 12:10 AM
  4. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 03-31-2014, 11:17 PM
  5. GPS mounting on VX
    By RiseXagainst42 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-03-2008, 01:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •