Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

GP1200R Opinions

Hey guys,
    I have a quick question about a Gp1200r that I am looking at. I wanted to get some opinions on if it's worth it to buy because it may need some work. I talked to the guy very briefly just asking if it was still available and if he would send me pictures. He did not have picture of it and it's in a storage unit but he said it needs a new seat cover (not sure how reliable that is). The problems listed I have no knowledge of what it could possibly be. I was wondering if anyone would know what is wrong with it or what it would need.

I am looking for a new ski because I have outgrown my 95 Seadoo SPX. So I saw this and was thinking it could be worth working on.

http://grandrapids.craigslist.org/boa/4735187723.html

Thanks!

+1
    How long has it been sitting? Does'nt sound like a electricle issue to me considering mine was doing the same thing a couple months ago and it ended up being no oil in the first cylinder (new and dumb me). If you can get it for cheap thats a great buy considering the Riva stage 1 kit is worth 1500+ anyway. Id do it!

+1
    And if it ends up being a Eletrical issuse a whole new CDI/Servo for the Powervalves isnt that much considering there a crap ton on ebay for pretty cheap, but like i said if you get it for cheap then its a good buy.

Guy told me he rode it a few times over the summer and it ran good until it bogged down to 30 mph. He was told it may be the stator that is bad. He brought it to a repair shop and they were the ones who told him.

Yeah if it's worth it I want to jump on it but I wanted some input.

+1
    Hmm like i said doesnt sound like a eletrical problem but who knows. Check compression before you buy it and roll with it!

+1