Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Polaris SLT hard start after a good run.

Hello Dudes and Dudettes...

Newbie here and I have a bit of a weird one...

I got my 1996 Polaris SLT 700 for free of CL and it had a blown motor. The ski otherwise looked mint and it appeared to have low hours. I rebuilt the motor, deleted the oil inject system and now pre mix my fuel at 50:1. Now here is the rub...
    Sometimes it is a real PITA to start cold. It will catch, and then immediately die. After about 15 mins of cranking it will run rough with a ton of blue for 30 seconds. Once going, it is a blast! It never dies, stutters, or cause me any concern. When I come back to the launch to pick up the next kid, and if I am not careful and keep the idle up, it will stop. Then it can become a REAL PITA to re-light. It is actually kinda scary when I am miles from nowhere and it will not start. I can crank and crank and no success. I pull plugs and check for spark and get a weak white one, not blue like I'm used to. I also check for flooding and it does not appear to be any, all the while wondering if my battery will last from all the cranking I am doing. To avoid this, I usually keep the machine running and make no beach calls, just to avoid being stranded. This is so hard to do in my area because the lakes here are so scenic.
    Here is what I have done so far:

Check fuel filters and lines, all look fine.
    I use top o' the line oil for my premix.
    New plugs, but which are the right ones? Resistor or no resistor? Plug number?
    New battery, and on a Battery Tender too.
    Carb... the only thing I did not touch during the rebuild since the ski looks so new. Is there an issue within, and if so, what to look for?
    Is there supposed to be pressure in the fuel tank? If so, my filler cap has busted threads on it and does not 100% close tight. i will replace anyways because I hate water in my fuel.
    CDI box looks good, but maybe something corroded that I can't see?
    Stator?