Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Chrisrokc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    3,667

    Rapping wire for tach

    Question,

    On my tiny tach I installed last season I put the wire around the red part of the front spark plug wire. Is this right? Since then I had my motor pulled and redone by a local shop and they cut the cord for it. So I re did it and it just doesn't seem right anymore.


    So my question is, is there any difference in where you wrap the wire for the tach.


  2. #2
    DAGO RACING CREW 97GPSLEEPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Orange, TX
    Posts
    4,228
    +1
    169
    On my GP (not GPR), the red is the sheath that covers the actual spark plug wire. You want to wrap the wire around the actual plug wire, not the sheath.

  3. #3
    My son (mohawk man) jeffsntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Belton TX
    Posts
    2,598
    +1
    1
    For some reason i was thinking that the wire that was on the tiny tachs was a special wire that couldnt be cut and spliced. I think I have read that in their instructions. You can send it to them and have them fix it if you think the tach is worth the freight.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    202
    My tiny tach worked best with the wire wrapped arround #1 lead by the spark plug cap.

    Every where else it didn't read correctly

  5. #5
    Flying Scotsman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    IllINOIS
    Posts
    6,514
    +1
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by 97GPSLEEPER View Post
    On my GP (not GPR), the red is the sheath that covers the actual spark plug wire. You want to wrap the wire around the actual plug wire, not the sheath.
    What he said wrap around the plug wire right next to the boot #1 plug worked for me and I put the ground wire on the threaded tab on the front of the cylinder.

    SCOTT...........

  6. #6
    My son (mohawk man) jeffsntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Belton TX
    Posts
    2,598
    +1
    1
    http://www.tinytach.com/tinytach/installation_gas.html

    Look at step number 2 on the illustrated diagram. The pick up wire is a co-ax wire. You can not cut and splice this wire. Hope this helps.

  7. #7
    Chrisrokc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    3,667
    Yea the wire is special. The red wrap wire is incased by the grounding wire through the main part of the wire. When it splits they just simply take the ground from around the red off. I fixed it at good as I could but I have Lvspeed letting me borrow a tach to double check my readings. I have it wrapped around the red part of the wire toward the ecu box. So maybe thats where some of my rpms are.

  8. #8
    Chrisrokc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    3,667
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffsntx View Post
    http://www.tinytach.com/tinytach/installation_gas.html

    Look at step number 2 on the illustrated diagram. The pick up wire is a co-ax wire. You can not cut and splice this wire. Hope this helps.
    Well the wire can be..... its just a HUGE pain in the ass. Part of my wire got melted on the exhaust and the inside tach wire was touching the grounding wire. I cut out that section. Pulled back the grounding sheath, pulled the covering off the inside wire. Soldered those together. Cover those with heat shrink. pulled the grounding sheath back over the top of it and connected it together with solder. I then cover that up with heat shrink. At the junction I basicly had to re did it. Ended up having to use another wire at the junction for the tach wire.

  9. #9
    Chrisrokc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    3,667
    Curious,

    What kind of RPM loss on the tach could this show????

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Good wire tap point for tach signal 06/07 RXP
    By Badvgood in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-23-2013, 02:53 PM
  2. Need Help: Looking for Tach signal wire 2001 GP1200R
    By The Reaper in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-02-2012, 09:59 PM
  3. which wire for tach???
    By cfgp927 in forum Polaris How To & FAQs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 03:50 PM
  4. Which wire for switched 12v on RXP?
    By RXPDAVID in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 07-15-2007, 07:54 PM
  5. KPG Chicken Wire For Sale
    By ABBOTT in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 06:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •