Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

Just got a 98 GTX Ltd. and going through it. Questions.....

I've had quite a few boats with inboards and outboards but this is my first PWC. Its a 1998 Seadoo GTX Ltd. I am pretty mechanically inclined but had a few questions since I'm new to seadoo's and jet drives. So.... the ski starts and idles good and I ran it on the water briefly (maybe 2mins) just to make sure it ran. Once I did some reading I saw where the grey lines needed to be changed out and all filters cleaned. I've got all the grey lines changed out and man, was there a bunch of crap caked up in the spin off filter and also pretty much clogging the fuel selector valve. I don't even know how fuel was running through that thing. Next I will be pulling off the carbs to clean the internal filters once I figure out how to.

I guess the main couple of questions I had was
    #1, what is the easiest way to pull the carbs off to clean the internal filters?
    #2, What point on the ski does the water get sucked up into the motor and where should the water be pissing out from?

I want to be sure I have no obstruction of fuel before I actually go ride it and I also want to be sure the cooling system is working as it should. I tested my compression at 135 & 140. I would assume that the ski has had a top end job with numbers like that when the ski has 313hrs on it BUT, I am not sure when it was last rebuilt. I just want to make sure everything is good to go before I start using it (I could actually ride it now since it's still pretty warm in Louisiana). Any tips and advice on what to look for or change would be appreciated.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	10806221_10203425324813013_8911856861573529190_n.jpg 
Views:	122 
Size:	59.9 KB 
ID:	348570   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	10865818_10203425324212998_1457734105367284491_o.jpg 
Views:	70 
Size:	96.5 KB 
ID:	348571