Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,553
    +1
    130

    question about cmd with autotune 04 rxp

    do I still need a reflash to bring up my rpms higher?


  2. #2
    Turbonut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Mt. Gambier, South Australia
    Posts
    135
    +1
    5
    Yes, you will need a reflash or aftermarket ecu to make your rpm limit higher.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,553
    +1
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by Turbonut View Post
    Yes, you will need a reflash or aftermarket ecu to make your rpm limit higher.
    so a reflash will work with the cmd? What's a good reflash for an 04?

  4. #4
    Turbonut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Mt. Gambier, South Australia
    Posts
    135
    +1
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by toxicgun View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Turbonut View Post
    Yes, you will need a reflash or aftermarket ecu to make your rpm limit higher.
    so a reflash will work with the cmd? What's a good reflash for an 04?
    Yes it will work fine. I had a cmd with autotune running on a Riva ecu perfectly. Its a very hassle free set up.
    You just have to find a reflash/ecu that fits the mods you have planned and the budget, whether it be Seadoo Centre, V Tech or Riva to name a few.
    I liked the Riva I had on mine, it was a good improvement but they don't make them anymore for the 04-05 so you need to find a used one.

  5. #5
    Nothin' better than Doo'in it! BigDaddyRXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Posts
    9,202
    +1
    673
    You will have issues with a Riva ecu and the CMD if your boost reaches 12-13 psi. The Riva ecu will lock the injectors wide open when it see's 12 pounds of boost from the MAP sensor..... the CMD uses injector pulse to calculate rpm. With injectors locked open.... the CMD will see zero rpm, and do nothing at that point.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    STL, LOTO
    Posts
    150
    +1
    7
    A workaround is to install a voltage clamp on the MAP sensor post CMD connection. Or what I did was size the injectors and FP to get the WOT AFR's I wanted and use the CMD to trim idle and midrange. Not perfect but does the job.

  7. #7
    Nothin' better than Doo'in it! BigDaddyRXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Posts
    9,202
    +1
    673
    A voltage clamp on the map sensor isn't a good idea! The ecu monitors "true" boost pressure for a reason. Fact is..... there just aren't very many decent tunes for Siemens ecu ski's, and the CMD connection to injector pulse for rpm is stupid.

  8. #8
    boost junkie skidoochris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Davison, Mi
    Posts
    4,494
    +1
    476
    the older ecus not only go to 100% DS
    they also drop the timing over 5psi (126kpa) 26* to 18*
    a clamp will make a huge improvement
    the cmd will add all the fuel you need but it will not work right with a stock ecu

  9. #9

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,553
    +1
    130
    I was hoping for around 15 psi with an xxx charger, I get the feeling that the cmd might not be a good fit for this setup. What about spinning it to 8600 with an x charger? Would this be a good setup?

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,553
    +1
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by skidoochris View Post
    the older ecus not only go to 100% DS
    they also drop the timing over 5psi (126kpa) 26* to 18*
    a clamp will make a huge improvement
    the cmd will add all the fuel you need but it will not work right with a stock ecu
    I got it, so dump it for a riva or similiar. I want to run the xxx charger on my setup, so a clamp and the cmd would do the job?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question about flushing with salt away
    By mikeFZR in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-14-2009, 11:53 PM
  2. More Issues with my 04 RXP
    By 04RXP22 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-20-2008, 09:13 AM
  3. question about gas in gpr vs. rxp
    By stingray152003 in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-14-2007, 04:36 PM
  4. Question about holeshot RPM's on RXP...
    By Suthrn in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-24-2007, 10:20 PM
  5. Question About the water box mod RXP
    By yellow4 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-07-2007, 10:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •