Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Branden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Cape Coral, Fl
    Posts
    1,600
    +1
    321

    converting to R&D reflash to V-Tech

    Guys, im looking to convert my ski to a vtec setup and datalogger however, vtech keeps telling me i need to send my computer off to have it flashed back to stock, im not really sure i am following what they are trying to tell me. Have any of you done this? Is this something i can just take to the dealer, have them erase everything in my computer, and be on my way?


  2. #2
    Normally a dealer has the ability to reflash back to a standard known program. The vtech software only knows how to write to this known program and it's known table layout.
    Last edited by whittlebeast; 02-09-2015 at 12:05 PM.

  3. #3
    NateRXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    746
    +1
    180
    Take it to your dealer and have them download the latest BUDS update that should wipe out the tune. Did for me

  4. #4
    Branden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Cape Coral, Fl
    Posts
    1,600
    +1
    321
    they are telling me my keys will need to be reprogrammed? I thought this would be a simple transition lol

  5. #5
    ATNryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    River Crew CT
    Posts
    695
    +1
    75
    Find someone who is looking for an R&D flash, trade them for their stock ECU and cash maybe?

  6. #6
    Branden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Cape Coral, Fl
    Posts
    1,600
    +1
    321
    Hmmmm, if i did that, maybe we can just swap keys? His keys would be coded to that ecu right?

  7. +1 by:


  8. #7
    Sanfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    S/E Florida
    Posts
    2,532
    +1
    777
    Quote Originally Posted by ATNryan View Post
    Find someone who is looking for an R&D flash, trade them for their stock ECU and cash maybe?
    Good idea but he would still need to have the OEM ECU married to the dash & iBR. Along with changing HIN's and adjusting the hours. It's not plug-n-play.

    If you don't know anyone with BUDS, then I would take to dealer and have them push a BUDS update (as a few others have pointed out).

  9. #8
    Mod less, ride more! troyheb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nederland, Texas
    Posts
    8,725
    +1
    1,267
    Quote Originally Posted by Sanfish View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ATNryan View Post
    Find someone who is looking for an R&D flash, trade them for their stock ECU and cash maybe?
    Good idea but he would still need to have the OEM ECU married to the dash & iBR. Along with changing HIN's and adjusting the hours. It's not plug-n-play.

    If you don't know anyone with BUDS, then I would take to dealer and have them push a BUDS update (as a few others have pointed out).
    I swaped my R&D ecu with my Vtech ecu last year on my Rxtx. Everything worked as it should. Plug and play.

  10. #9
    Sanfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    S/E Florida
    Posts
    2,532
    +1
    777
    Quote Originally Posted by troyheb View Post
    I swaped my R&D ecu with my Vtech ecu last year on my Rxtx. Everything worked as it should. Plug and play.
    Not clear. Are you saying you had 2 ECU's, one with R&D and the other a Vtech version?

    What ski was that Vtech ECU originally from? (different HIN?)

  11. #10
    Mod less, ride more! troyheb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nederland, Texas
    Posts
    8,725
    +1
    1,267
    I took the Vtech ecu from my 2012 Rxpx and put it in my 2013 Rxtx, that had a R&D flashed ecu in it. Plug and Play.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Her ride: '94 SL650 converted to 750
    By xlint89 in forum Polaris Projects
    Replies: 94
    Last Post: 11-23-2009, 12:23 AM
  2. I need help choosing jets for a sl900 converted to 1050
    By sea~smith in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-27-2007, 11:18 AM
  3. Converting to 1300 questions
    By Yellow93 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 04:41 PM
  4. What is the proper way to convert to premix on a 97xp?
    By Satanklawz in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 07-14-2007, 09:59 AM
  5. Should I convert to Premix?
    By Ronn25 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-29-2006, 03:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •