Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Exclamation 2008 RXP 155, Re-starting issue. driving me insane.

hey guys,
    love reading all your posts etc, but now i come on bended knee with hat in hand, as i am completly at a loss.
    i have a 2008 rxp 155 here in AUS. it is my first ski, it has been great but lately has been sending me to the looney bin.

So the problem is: first start it will kick over no problem, second start (after 15mins 0f running) can sometimes take a push or two) third start. game over. now when i say it wont start. its basically failing to crank, (slow cranking).

however if i wait 20mins and let the ski sit, it will start first push. (ive proven this like 15 times).
    i have replaced the starter(old type) with a new one (new type). ive replaced the starter motor itself.
    ive checked the battery with a professional load tester (marine electronics tech by trade).
    and ive check spark plugs, fuel pump and inspected for water etc.
    recent oil change and oil filter was also changed. with no improvement.
    when running this thing is awesome. of late however it has been running slightly rough at idle.
    intake and impellor are free of any obstruction.

so i have drawn i few conclusions (remember im new to this however):

if it was a battery issue why would it restart after resting.
    if it was a crank shaft why would it restart after resting.
    if it was a ECU why arent there any alarms/ errors.
    the only thing i havent tried is shorting out the NEG- terminal to the engine to get a better earth, but will be trying that this weekend(no point trying it in the garage as it needs a run to see the issue)

please boys help a bloke out.
    happy to answer any questions to get this resolved, and buying a new SC ski isnt a financial option at the moment sorry

+1
    Change the starter solonoid, $18 aftermarket

+1
    Double post