Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

02 gpr1200 no power

Hi there every one new to forum looking to pin point a problem with my 02 gpr1200 in my mind is either carb related or possibly reed related. Trying to look for some help in the right direction since i am personally not a 2 stroke guy but I am a car mechanic so I already ran a compression test have 115-120 in all cylinders.I purchased a gpr1200 have had it for 2 years I have luckily had not a single hiccup till now. I was pretty much wide open throttle chasing a boat doing about 60 when Iím pretty sure one of the oil lights came on pretty sure just the oil injection light. And then the ski died completely for about 30 seconds then started and it would only idle. I was far out and can basically hold it wide open and it will not go faster than pretty much idling. However I was pretty far out so every time I got thrown out of the water it revved up and would gain speed. And I did this then finally have it up 20 15mph? This is why I think it carb related because under no load it revs up fine. On the dock it revs and runs fine other than seeming harder to start. I figured I ran it way low on oil in the injection and it killed it so I tested compressions seemed good topped everything off and still doing the same thing. The only mod I know of on the ski is what looks like a d plate and the 02 sensor is cut and tied away. Only other thing I have read is check the prop but most say it should be making a weird noise. Only thing I notice is it runs fine at idle then basically shakes a little bit like its missing but I checked looks like I have good spark somebody point me to the right direction of where I should start looking first. only idles no power anywhere else (powervalve)?

+1
    First thing I would do is pull the fuel pickup from the tank. At the bottom end, there is a trap door. It is made of thin plastic that warps easily and gets stuck. If it's warped, just remove it.

Quote Originally Posted by grumpy_steven View Post