Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

PWC newbie considering (2) 2007 FX-12x GPScape

Hi, I am looking for experienced advice so this looks like the place! I am completely new to PWC's, am not the youngest guy in the world being in my 50's but have been looking for a couple decent reliable PWC's without completely breaking the bank (as I prefer to stay married!). I have done much research on different brands and ran across what I think is a decent buy on 2 FX-12c GPScape's.

They are asking $8k for both including trailerable covers and a trailer. They do have more hours on them than I would like (150 & 250). They have been well kept with all records of maintenance done at 2 different marinas, the mechanics name was supplied to me as well who maintained them since new. The main issues I see with these model Honda;s are are the corrosion issues and ecm. The owner said he has sprayed the turbo, etc. after every use (and it shows as I can not find much if any rust) and they have been diligently maintained and stored inside every winter.

I have a few questions:

1) Do you think this is a good buy? The original price was $9k but he came down to $8k.
    2) I have a 19 year old daughter with Cerebral Palsy that I want to take out on these. I have read they are smaller than some but still fairly stable, is this true as I need to make sure she doesn't go unintentionally swimming too often.
    3) The current owner said that he has not had the gas tank recall done since he has not had any issues. If I went with them, would you recommend I have that done?
    4) Is there anyway to check if the ecm is healthy or not or is that kind of a crap shoot? I read on another thread that if I test drive it for 20-30 minutes and do not have any issues it is usually a sign of a healthy ecm (if that is the right term).

Thanks for the advice!

Charlie

+1