Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

SLT780 has a lot of oil coming out of exhaust

Hi everyone! New to greenhulk and was hoping I could get some advice.
    I've been riding this ski for 19 years, since it was brand new. Never have I seen the top of the ride plate covered in oil like this. You'd never know there was an issue when riding it though. This is literally the first problem I've had with it since it was brand new in 1996, aside from plugs and batteries that is. Because it has been problem free, it's actually in a way kind of a bad thing because I don't know very much about it since I've never had to take anything apart.
    I hope you guys can help. Thanks.

If you could take some pics and download them, that would be a good start. It could mean a lot of things. Have you since changed your brand of oil?

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20150318_174045.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	53.5 KB 
ID:	353733Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20150318_173744.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	93.9 KB 
ID:	353731Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20150318_173444.jpg 
Views:	49 
Size:	83.1 KB 
ID:	353730

So the first one is the ride plate. It was actually worse but the trip to the lake last week cleaned it up somewhat. Top-right is the exhaust with the waterbox removed. And finally the bottom is the outlet of the waterbox (lots and lots of sludge).

As far as my brand of oil...I've never stuck to one brand. Usually just whatever I find at Wal-mart or Autozone. Now that I've said that I'm kind of embarrassed because I'm religious when it comes to oil on my car and truck.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20150318_174045.jpg 
Views:	38 
Size:	87.4 KB 
ID:	353732  
    Last edited by fmvy95; 03-18-2015 at 07:55 PM. Reason: adding information

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

This is a 1996 model, correct? Last two digits on the HIN number plate.