Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Break in for RXP and RXT

What is the best break in for these jets im new to seadoo, does there need oil to be added for the first tank of gas the machine every runs through??

I subscribe to the school of...break it in like you plan on riding it. I pushed it through all the rpm ranges, however I didn't run it WOT for very long at any given time for the first 10 hours or so. I didn't run it for very long at any set rpm for that matter, varied the speed I cruised at. Changed the oil at 10-12 hours or problems.

Lakeland, FL
    You're opening Pandora's Box on this question. This has been rehashed so many times, if you find people will to respond to it anymore, you will get opinions ranging from "follow the manual/no WOT until 10hrs" to "drive it like you stole it". They are all just opinions, no one has found the definitve best way. It's a shame, you want to do what's best for your new machine, but it's very hard to figure out what that might be. There's a popular concensus that following the prescribed break-in from the manual (almost no WOT) can hurt the engine more than help. But then why does BRP want you to do it that way? Only opinions. Do a search for "break-in" on this site or and you will see all the potential answers that you could possibly get in this thread.

My personal "opinion" is, there is a common middle ground between the extremes. Be gentle your first two tankfulls, vary RPMs, never WOT until the engine is at operating temp., and get the oil changed before you're going to be riding the hell out of it, but after a couple of hours it has to see some WOT or the engine really isn't broken in. I agree with VaRedneck.

Morgan City, LA
    Quote Originally Posted by RXP Blur View Post
    What is the best break in for these jets im new to seadoo, does there need oil to be added for the first tank of gas the machine every runs through??
    You don't add oil to the fuel. These are 4 cycle engines.