Cool Polaris slt 700h-first ski and a project

Picked this up for what I think was a good deal.
    its a 1999 polaris slt700h
    I went in completely blind and just bought it as is where is.

Trailer has a good bit of rust on the bottom and is pretty unsafe for the road. But that's another story.

This is my very first jet ski. Never had one. Never rode one.

The jet pump is taken out because owner said it sat on a boat lift above salt water and it froze up so he took it off to free it up.
    Prop looks decent. Bearings are free but ill probably get new ones anyways while its apart. Anything I should look at/check (remember I'm a complete noobie to skis!)

First thing I wanted to do when i got it home was make sure the engine ran-battery was completely flat so I jumped started it.
    Soon as I hooked jumpers up the dash light up-red light kept flashing and dash flashed "fuel" and "0"
    The mode and set buttons on the display didn't do anything (was hoping to see how many hours were on it)
    anyways-it started up and runs decent (only ran it a few seconds since hose wasn't hooked up)
    dash read engine rpm at 1500-1700 idle. And eventually the red light stopped blinking! Still buttons didnt function.

Before i bought it I asked the guy if there's a guy-he said no the lanyard clips the key-that doesn't seem right??
    There's a switch on the front below the handles that looks like a key but its non removable that says on and off that doesn't seem to do anything at all? I thought it was to switch the dash and stuff off but it doesn't so anytjing that I noticed.

My main questions.
    What's that on/off switch do?!
    does the dash remain on ALL the time?
    how do I tell how many hours are on it?
    when inspecting the jet pump-anything to look for?
    When rebuilding-anything else I need to buy? Or do?

Im sure ill have more questions as I go along!
    Last edited by Nitrodude; 03-24-2015 at 07:49 PM.