Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    126
    +1
    19

    SHO Tach Connection

    Hi Guys,

    The other day was reading a thread about connecting a tach on the FZ/SHO motor and it mentioned about wrapping the signal wire around the coil. I tried this with mine and got no signal or response from the tach.
    Does anyone have a link to that post or any methods of how your tachs are connected?? My ski is currently 6,500kms away and won't see it for about 6wks I will only have limited time with it when I get back so want to make sure I've got all the info to dive into it and then spend a few days riding the guts out of it!!

    I'll also be throwing a C3 wheel, Watson Racing reflash and a few other goodies at the old FX Barge!


  2. #2
    lets race.... mikeFZR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    4,134
    +1
    205
    I don't have a picture (maybe someone else does??) but you want to wrap the signal wire tightly around the top of the coil pack. On my TT I can wrap it around 1.5-2 times. Then connect the other wire to a ground (I use a bolt on the plastic engine cover mount). By the way, some tachs require you to put them on the appropriate setting so they read the correct rpm. I think my TT is 720*

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    126
    +1
    19
    Thanks Mike.
    The tach that I have only has 1 signal wire and no earth. I tried wrapping the coil pack with no luck. I'm thinking that it may be a faulty tach...

  4. #4
    SLAP~YA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, QLD
    Posts
    432
    +1
    74
    I had an ebay tach done the same thing it was a piece of shit. End up buying a proper TTO tach. I wound the pickup around the middle of the coil 4 times and held it on with some electrical tape. Never since had an issue,

    Oh and the C3 Wheel is sick for a low booster!!! No problems putting lengths on a 300x

  5. #5
    lets race.... mikeFZR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    4,134
    +1
    205
    Here is a picture in post #7. It is not mine, but same concept. Hope that helps. http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/show...=1#post1847639

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    126
    +1
    19
    Awesome. Thanks guys.
    Another project for when I'm reunited with the big girl.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Need help finding direct tach output lead on SHO
    By mjh3ides in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-26-2014, 09:23 PM
  2. Using a PET 2100 tach on a SHO/FZR/FZS
    By 2fast4u in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 05-09-2013, 05:32 PM
  3. PET Tach on fzr/fzs/sho
    By 2fast4u in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-26-2009, 07:15 AM
  4. 08 SHO Cruiser TACH
    By Toobold in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-10-2009, 11:20 PM
  5. Where do I connect PET 2100 on SHO?
    By mjh3ides in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-04-2008, 12:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •