Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

+1

Learning to back up a personal watercraft trailer

Hey,

This is my first time ever towing anything.. but the good news is I have forward down like a champ!

I can't seem to get backing up down. I've been going to some empty parking lots and using my driveway, but I can't for the life of me get the trailer to go straight back where I want.

I've been practicing so when it comes to launching, I won't take an hour at the ramp. Any advice/tips? or does it just come with practice?

Thanks!
    Last edited by K447; 04-28-2015 at 04:53 PM. Reason: Thread title clarity, for future searching

Back up normally. Don't use the turn the wheel the wrong way advice or any of that.

Just remember this. If the trailer is too far to the drivers side, turn the TRUCK towards the drivers side just like you normally would. Moving the truck left makes the trailer go right. But all you really need to know starting off, is which side has too much trailer.

Steer towards the side that has too much trailer.

Don't use too much steering, that'll just make it harder to figure out which way to go. Go slow so you can practice controlling the trailer back and forth.

90 degree turn? Once you cut the trailer, you have cut back hard to follow it, or to straighten it out.

Use your side mirrors only. No rear view mirror. No looking through your rear window. Unless you're stopped, then I'll cheat sometimes, but try not to use those. They're a crutch that'll hold you back.

Get some meterstick sized aluminum bars from a hardware store. Bolt them on the sides of the little trailer so you can see it better. Some of our work trailers are too small to see in our side mirrors. So I stick those al strips on to add width that'll show up in my mirrors. Mine are magnet mount, I use them for backing only. Don't drive around with the extenders on.