Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

Smile 2 97 Polaris SLT 780's whit problems please help. New to pwc world

Hello everyone I'm new to the web site and new to the world of pwc. I just bought 2 1997 Polaris SLT 780's that don't run. I am mechanically inclined but I have never worked on pwcs and I'm a bit hesitant to do so.

1st ski does a loud clunk like its jammed up when tride to crank over. I've tride to crank it with a car battery and nothing. It just clunks and doesn't rotate. Owner said he had it running a few months ago.

2nd ski cranks over but when I took the spark plugs out to check for spark there was fluids flying everywhere when I cranked it.

Thanks in advance

+1
    Welcome to the Hulk!!

Lots of good reading material here - Http://PolarisPWCknowledge.shorturl.com

A loud clunk would tend to indicate the starter is activating, engaging the bendix, which is engaging the flywheel, but the flywheel wont move. In this case, either the jet pump or the motor itself is likely locked up. Try rotating the motor by hand at the drive shaft coupler. If it will not turn, remove the jet pump. Try again. If it still won't turn, time to remove the heads and see what is going on inside.

As for the 2nd ski, fluids with a brownish orange color, and with a history of being flipped, likely points to water in the crankcase and a rusty crankshaft. Time to remove the carbs, intake manifold, and reeds to have a look at the condition of the crankshaft. If it looks to have any rust, the entire motor need to be torn down and each of the bearings needs inspected. A rusty crankshaft needs replaced.

Sounds like you have two complete rebuilds on your hands to me..... Not a overly difficult task to take on and we will be happy to support along the way.....

+1