is it possible to change oil without the ski starting?

Hey guys i got a question, i brought my ski into a yamaha dealer to get the 10 hour service, and they told me everything was ready to go except my battery is dead and they are charging it up. from my understanding they would of had to start the ski for about 10 min to warm the motor up to pull all the oil out before they did the oil change, how is it possible that they did the oil change with my dead battery? are they playing me for a fool?

truwrxtacy I'm not an expert but to my knowledge one of the reasons behind having the engine run is that warm oil is easier to extract but that does not mean they can't extract it from a cold engine. None the less the service manual does state to start the engine and warm it up for 6 minutes or more at engine idle speed. Maybe the shop had a rapid charger and they did start it up?

Good luck!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Oil Change Yamaha Waverunner VX Sport VX Cruiser VX Deluxe VX1100 Shop Manual 2010-2014.jpg 
Views:	77 
Size:	70.8 KB 
ID:	358218

"New" Jersey
    All well equipped dealerships have jumper packs. Plus if they didn't start it, how did they know the battery was dead? It probably went something like this: mechanic tried to start the ski but the battery was dead. He then started it with a jump pack and ran it for a few minutes. He then changed the oil and restarted the ski to make sure the oil was full and had no issues with the oil change. It would have started because of the surface charge from the jump pack. He then moved the ski out of his bay and installed a normal battery charger to deep charge the battery for you. Sounds like the dealer did you a solid in my opinion. They would make more money trying to sell you a new battery than charging that one. Did you store it on a battery maintainer over the winter?

4. +1 by: