Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

94 Polaris 750 SL Newbie Questions

94 Polaris 750 SL Questions
    Hi, I am new to PWCs and have read so much great info here I thought I'd see if I could get some feedback, I am totally new to PWCs (although I have rented them and ridden them before), I have lots of general questions,, but I just picked up a 94 Polaris 750 SL and a Yamaha 1993 Waverunner 650LX and a 2 place trailer for $1000, it seemed like a good deal and both are in good shape, but need some attention. Anyway, the guy I bought them from seemed like he didnt know crap about them other than the Polaris runs and the Yamaha doesnt. He said the Polaris needed starter fluid to get started and he thought the Yamaha had piston issues(based on what a mechanic told him), he gave only vague answers to my questions. But I bought them anyway cause it seemd too good to pass up and here is what I discovered so far, the Polaris' battery will not hold a charge, the motor turns over but the batt didnt have enough juice to get it going before it died. I think the fact the motor turned over is a good sign?? I was wondering what would require the Polaris to need starter fluid?? IS this normal?? What should I do right off the bat to get the machine in running order and take care of known issues with these ( I have read that the fuel pump should be upgraded and the oil pump removed and to go with strictly premix 40:1) but other than that I am clueless, is there any oil other than in the gas that needs to be changed, do I need to lube the shaft and where does it lube at? Oh man so many questions from a newbie, it must be hard on you guys, Anyway I also need a new battery for both machines, any ideas on what is the best one for the money and where is the best deal at? I will appreciate any and all answers and keep up the good work here, I am also going to check the greenhulk.net site too for more Polaris info. BTW is this a good machine or the Yamaha for that matter or are they notorious lemons