Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kokomo, In
    Posts
    73

    Aftermarket bars on stock system?

    i was curious if i could run aftermarket bars on the stock system i want the looks of the umi or renthal bars but i dont really need the complete umi setup.. this would be going on my 02 GPR and then even possibly even the 800

    what are my options?

    thanks chris


  2. #2
    One day at a time..... N8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    TAMPA
    Posts
    3,716
    +1
    41

  3. #3
    ABBOTT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Birmingham, AL / Lay Lake
    Posts
    3,736
    +1
    96
    here you go.

    step by step with pictures.

    http://greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=7302

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Birmingham AL
    Posts
    2,924
    +1
    2
    Abbott did mine on 2 skis it came out AWESOME

    But he ate all the crayons we had in the house

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kokomo, In
    Posts
    73
    you guys rock...any specific model of pro taper or renthal that works well with the GPR's?

  6. #6
    ABBOTT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Birmingham, AL / Lay Lake
    Posts
    3,736
    +1
    96
    anything you fancy will do. Remember it has to be at least 31 inches across though -- that is the length you need to be able to slide grips / trim / and still be able to use the stock start/stop assymbly.

    Anything shorter than 31inches---you will find that the start/stop switch is forced to be over a "curve" in the bar and will not be able to be fastened. You want them long enough to have the start/stop switch over a "flat" portion of the bar sitting tightly next to the stock trim assymbly.

    These are all concerns due to the left side of the bars where everything goes. The right side is only a grip and an aftermarket throttle lever.

    Also with 31 inches across, you have a nice area on the right side of the bars (between the bend, and the throttle) to put up to (2) GPS bike mounts for an E-Trex GPS. I will be running two GPS's on my bars, one to show maps and the other to show statistics. This way, i never have to scroll through the screens. Plus with 2, you can verify that your speeds are what they are.

    Hope you found the info helpful.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lake of the Ozarks
    Posts
    191
    Great post ABBOTT. I, too, am considering aftermarket bars. That answers a lot of questions. I want to use my stock trim system.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    KY/ Lake Cumberland
    Posts
    114
    If anyone is interested, I have a set of ProTaper SE bars. No packaging, but brand new, never used. $40 +shipping. I can take pics. they are silver, 7/8" dia, and CR HI bend. Nice bars. PM if interested.
    Last edited by WaveJumper52; 04-30-2007 at 09:36 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Aftermarket Renthal or Riva handlebars on stock system with standard trim?
    By jd2010GP1300r in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-23-2012, 09:56 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2012, 08:15 PM
  3. aftermarket handle bars on stock steerin system
    By jbuhles in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-16-2011, 10:43 PM
  4. Changing adapting to aftermarket bars with stock stem on 250x
    By bigeye in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-11-2010, 09:17 PM
  5. AFTERMARKET BARS WITH STOCK TRIM ASSEMBLY
    By ABBOTT in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-30-2007, 11:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •