Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Lightbulb Can't get tach to read signal properly!!

    Ok. I have a PET-2500 tach. It worked great for a while. Then I installed some new handlebars and routed the tach wire up through the column. It didn't get a good reading (showed 10,000 RPMs etc) so I put it back where it was. It's still getting interference from somewhere..I've tried wrapping the wire around the red part of the spark plug wire, the black part, routed the tach wire down one side of the ski, then the other, then down the middle... nothing... I keep getting funky readings (at anything above 4k).

    Any ideas?


  2. #2
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,801
    +1
    450
    Use a solid core or heavy stranded wire. Also wrap it around the black part of the #2 wire next to the CDI box. I have (2) this way and they work no problems.

  3. #3
    mrbtd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lindenhurst, Illinois, United States
    Posts
    4,309
    +1
    2
    Where it is wrapped around the plug wire make sure it isnt touching another plug wire anywhere. Also be sure it is grounded good.
    Last edited by mrbtd; 04-30-2007 at 12:44 PM. Reason: spelling

  4. #4

    Lightbulb wire

    I'm using copper wire that is the maximum gauge thickness that will fit inside the small hole on the tach. I also wrapped it around the black part of each wire 4 times and it has electrical tape too; it worked fine this way before not sure why not now..

    so I'll try the middle wire.. and WFO are you running the rest of the wire up the sides of the ski or .. where? Thanks.

  5. #5
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,801
    +1
    450
    I did both of mine like this...

    Tach mounted on glove box lid and wire runs under the lid into the compartment, down the drain hole in the bottom of the glove compartment, wrapped the wire twice around the left side "post" under the compartment, down the port side along with the main harness almost to the battery box, out and over and down to the #2 plug only, wrapped about 5 times and no tape.

  6. #6
    gotcha, so your wire is running along the main wiring harness too then without interference... then over to the black part of the #2 wire. I'll redo mine this way and see what happens.

  7. #7
    Moderator OsideBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11,875
    +1
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by NateGP1300R View Post
    I'm using copper wire that is the maximum gauge thickness that will fit inside the small hole on the tach. I also wrapped it around the black part of each wire 4 times and it has electrical tape too; it worked fine this way before not sure why not now..

    so I'll try the middle wire.. and WFO are you running the rest of the wire up the sides of the ski or .. where? Thanks.

    When you say you wrapped around each wire 4 times you only wraped one spark plug wire right?

    I have a commercial TT also and it has similar issues I have standard TT in other skis no problem at all

  8. #8
    Just a H-20 HO....Need I say More! Mykull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern Va/ SOBX
    Posts
    283
    Nate, Just buy a new ski!!!!! Did you ever figure out what happened to your missing sponson?? Will letcha know when we are headin out again. Later Mike

  9. #9

    Question lol

    mykull... lol.. no i think it's floating in the potomac somewhere! no worries, it's like a $15 part. tell me how much it is for the 250!! jk.

    it's weird because it used to work fine before when i had it this way.

    osidebill -- no, i had the wire wrapped around all three plug wires, near the box, on the black part. i'll try just the middle wire now, although i have tried the one wire method before and it didn't work either.

  10. #10
    '02GPRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    425
    With my PET-2100DX, the only place I could get it to work was on the #2 wire by the spark plug boot. I tried by the box and got crazy readings. Just keep trying places, you'll find one that works.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Polaris SL 780 can't get it to run right
    By lx.crowell95 in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-02-2016, 08:44 AM
  2. Can't get driveshaft to go into the engine coupler (95 SLX)
    By x2nervisx in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-24-2013, 10:14 PM
  3. Where can I get templates to Photoshop some decals?
    By xray328 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-10-2011, 01:41 AM
  4. Can you jump dash to read hours when motor torn down?
    By toyterrific in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-21-2010, 11:29 AM
  5. pet tach - can't get it to read consistently
    By philip_gpr in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 06:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •