Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: GPR plug wires?

  1. #1
    Robsauto2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Oceanside, CA.
    Posts
    774
    +1
    7

    GPR plug wires?

    Hey guys, want to replace the plug wires on my GPR, stockers are almost 200.00 dollars, what have you had good luck with and where did you buy them? Thanks


  2. #2
    My son (mohawk man) jeffsntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Belton TX
    Posts
    2,598
    +1
    1
    NGK's from Carl. I like them so far. Its pretty simple to do the swap, but it is time consuming.

  3. #3
    Crash Test Dummy Smitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cullman, AL
    Posts
    1,280
    +1
    2

  4. #4
    Robsauto2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Oceanside, CA.
    Posts
    774
    +1
    7
    Cool, thanks guys!

  5. #5
    Jersey GPR'N Drico's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Colonia, NJ
    Posts
    109
    Holy sh*t!!! $200 for plug wires!! Here's a stupid question but when are the plug wires due to be changed in terms of engine hours?

    Dave

  6. #6
    Moderator OsideBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11,875
    +1
    30
    http://www.rivayamaha.com/RivaStore/...20Set,%203-cyl

    Riva has the MSD wires for $43 Tripple set which means you can order through the Green Hulk store for 10% discount not bad

  7. #7
    Moderator OsideBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11,875
    +1
    30
    http://www.watcon.com/Catalog_Pages/...Plug_Wires.htm

    or you buy the Nology wires from Watcon $240

  8. #8
    when is a good time to replace the wires? are they like cars, every so many hours you should replace them? i'm not having any problems but i was just curious.

  9. #9
    My son (mohawk man) jeffsntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Belton TX
    Posts
    2,598
    +1
    1
    I would just check the resistance values. The good values should be in the service manual. The only reason I replaced mine is because I moved the electrical box back and the stockers were too short.

  10. #10
    Robsauto2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Oceanside, CA.
    Posts
    774
    +1
    7
    My wires ohm check fine. The problem is the plug boot insulation is leaking, and I laid my arm on top of # 3 and shocked the crap out of myself. So if water gets on them, it has a path to ground which is not good.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. GPR spark plug wire replacement
    By Highlifeking in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2014, 09:06 AM
  2. FS 2000 GPR Spark Plug Wires
    By Black Z-24 in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-25-2013, 04:40 PM
  3. spark plug wire grounding posts, where?
    By qbzonk in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-04-2006, 11:27 PM
  4. Plug wires
    By philip_gpr in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-18-2006, 12:52 AM
  5. Plug wires???
    By sbogi in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-10-2006, 10:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •