Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 412131415 LastLast
Results 131 to 140 of 144
  1. #131
    wilsonma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sarnia, Ontario
    Posts
    119
    +1
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by YudLuz2 View Post
    Yes it will, but a don't recommend it. You won't have a gas gauge, or any warning sensors telling you about your engine problems.
    True true. It would be a gamble for sure. Thanks for all the info!

  2. #132
    fx160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    gold coast australia
    Posts
    2,191
    +1
    145
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Hulk View Post
    The hours are not stored on the dash (cluster)
    It seems they are
    Ecu hours no
    But dash hours yes

  3. +1 by:


  4. #133
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    34,613
    +1
    952
    Quote Originally Posted by YudLuz2 View Post
    ...
    We knew the cluster display [hours] always stayed the same when you swapped out ECU's.

    And when you hook up the Yamaha software to read the ecu you are disconnecting the gauge cluster, so the software reader never sees the display cluster since its disconnected.
    Hope this helps.
    thanks for posting this.

    The service tech can view and record the cluster display hours prior to connecting the diagnostic software, which is how the ECU vs. dash display hours disparity can be discovered, correct?


  5. #134
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    35,680
    +1
    2,164
    Great info CandooPro and Yudluz, thanks for coming back and posting this.

    I also made a phone call this morning to a reputable industry insider and was told that YES! Hours are also stored on the dash!

  6. #135
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    34,613
    +1
    952
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Hulk View Post
    ...
    I also made a phone call this morning to a reputable industry insider and was told that YES! Hours are also stored on the dash!
    Dash hours are simply power on hour counter, the dash reading is not read from the ECU, correct?

    So some 'drift' is expected between the dash and ECU hour numbers since the dash may be powered up for moments when the engine is not actually running.

    When swapping among dash or ECU units it would be useful if either the dash or the ECU hour counter could be 'adjusted' to match the other. Who might know if either is possible?

    It would seem that the problem is mostly with dash hours that are higher than ECU hours by a significant delta. Being able to run up the factory ECU hours (on the work bench, so to speak) to match the dash reading might be the 'easiest' approach.

  7. #136
    YoYamma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    19,706
    +1
    3,281
    Quote Originally Posted by CANDooPro View Post
    This was bugging me so I went out to the parts bin to see if I had any Yamaha clusters, found several, one is from a 2003 FX140, another is from a 2010 FX HO. Checked them out, they both store the hours in cluster.

    So sorry I gave the wrong info earlier, been a couple years since I messed with Yamaha clusters. (I never paid much attention to hours, I only was concerned how they measured speed when designing the Candoopro GPS modules...)

    I won't guess on how Yamaha calculates the hours, whether or not the cluster measures on time or running time. But let me tell you what I do know, and that is even if the clusters and the ECU's measure the same way, for example if they both simply measure ON time, you will always have a difference between the two. This is because both the ECU's and the clusters measure time derived from their internal microcontroller crystals, and there is typically some differences in tolerance, so there would be an accumulated error over time.
    Interesting thread...


  8. #137

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    58
    +1
    5
    @FPV TRANNY Any progress or more pictures?

  9. #138
    Steve-m31164's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    2,495
    +1
    355
    I think DASHPAC have something that will be released soon for this issue .....


  10. #139

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    brisbane australia
    Posts
    220
    +1
    10
    have you got the ski back yet?

    was the bore damaged?

  11. #140
    FPV TRANNY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    253
    +1
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by big929 View Post
    have you got the ski back yet?

    was the bore damaged?
    I get it back in 2 days. Yes the bore was damaged. We now know the failure and it was not a faulty piston........

Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 412131415 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 10 users browsing this thread. (5 members and 5 guests)

  1. 04gtxsc,
  2. Elchenland,
  3. FPV TRANNY,
  4. hotbutta,
  5. Lawrence (RI)

Similar Threads

  1. •For Sale• 2016 FZ SVHO runs 85+ with Riva Stage 2 parts
    By Green Hulk in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 125
    Last Post: 12-31-2016, 06:19 PM
  2. •FOR SALE• Build up of my new 2016 FZS SVHO
    By Green Hulk in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 12-17-2016, 05:06 PM
  3. First oil change on my new 2016 FZ SVHO
    By Green Hulk in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-21-2016, 08:28 AM
  4. •FOR SALE• Build up of my new 2016 FZS SVHO
    By Green Hulk in forum Yamaha Projects & Build Threads
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-20-2016, 02:11 PM
  5. New GRF stainless steel catch can installed on my 2016 FZ SVHO
    By Green Hulk in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-19-2016, 10:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •