Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

msx110 motor trouble

Hello! I am new to the board. I just aquired a 2004 msx110. I am a first time owner of a ski. I"m pretty mechanically inclined. I bought the ski and the owner told me it has a low cylinder. I took it home and did a compression check, got 140 for the front and 20psi on the rear cylinder. I tried to take the head off but everything is so tight on these, its like putting socks on a rooster. So i just took the whole motor out and wanted to check everything out. Anyways got the head off and found a copper peice stuck on one of the intake valves. Now i suspect that was the culprit. I looked over the pistons and cylinder walls and they looked good. When i was taking the intake stuff off there is that roundish looking barrel that the throttle body bolts to, well i saw some copper peices laying on the bottom, the same material that was stuck in my intake valve. Question: where would this peice have introduced from? I am new to this 4 stroke jetski efi"s. Anyone with suggestions or comments about this and what i should do or check please chime in. Much appreciated! Thanks!

+1
    WELCOME to the Green Hulk Forums!!!!

There are a couple of members with the Weber engines that can probably point you in the right direction.
    I'm also sure Jay or Chip can help you out, they should be around sometime tomorrow, hang loose.

In the mean time, you may wanta ask the former owner if he's ever counted his pocket change over the air box!

Ride Mohave To Havasu. Live In Los Angeles.
    How about some pics too?

+1

Cool

only thing I can thing of is intercooler falling apart

later cd

+1
    What do the valves look like. This is an overhead valve machine. I doubt it would be pieces from the intercooler. It could be the turbo vanes. Where was the ski ran, fresh or salt water. Maybe intercooler, but doubt it. Still your bigs problem is compression. Fellow 110 owner. Post pictures.
    Last edited by f150vtx; 05-24-2007 at 03:35 PM.

+1