new guy with some SLT questions

noob here,

I just purchased an slt750 for a grand in need of a tune-up. Its been sitting for a couple of years, I have removed the carbs, intake, and oil pump for inspection and repair/replacement. on the plus side the engine and pump were rebuilt recently before it was parked, id say less than ten hours on them.
    Its my first ski, never actually been on one before, or under the hood for that matter.

anyways, some of my reed valves are slightly curved, just enough so they do not sit flush on the cage. i would say about 1/32" gap. is that ok or not?
    can I flip the reeds over, or is that a no-no? can i get cheap replacements?

Where can i get the gaskets for cheap?

I also dissassembled the oil injection pump to check it out, and it seems plenty clean, with no noticeable wear, but should I replace it anyway?

I will put a triple fuel pump on it for sure, and replace the fuel valve as well, cheap insurance i say.

also, my hull is fugly, if i strip it down and pretty it up, can I even get the decals for it these days? any suitable alternatives? I really like the stock SLT look...

also I have lots of small stress cracks in the gelcoat at the rear of the topdeck from the tiedown strap being cranked down way too tight for way too long, is that a serious problem?

anyways, thanks in advance.
    any of you guys from missouri on here?

im from kansas , the reed petals are easy 2 find and buy ,

decals are a no go

do a compersion test ,

got spark ?

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    Cleveland OH