Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Pet-2100 Issue

  1. #1
    Moderator RX951's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    League City, Texas
    Posts
    16,066
    +1
    23

    Question Pet-2100 Issue

    o.k. guyz, I have something weird happening. I've done some digging, but can't find where I read it, but I've seen where someone had this happen also.

    Here's what I got.

    I have a pet-2100 Tach. Installed it on my wife's 2002 EFI GPR. it bounces all over the place....literally.

    Not sure if this happened to the previous owner or the owner before it.....but...here's what I've done

    I've clipped it closest to the electrical box on the:
    #1 - idle shows 540-980 rpm
    #2 - 1320 steady rpm
    #3 - 440 rpm

    I've clipped it closest to the plug boot
    #1 - 440 rpm
    #2 - 1000 steady
    #3 - 1000 steady

    Now, when I place it on my CDI igniton 2000 carb GPR, it reads just fine and is exactly the same reading as my Pet tach on my ski. both coincide perfectly.

    * So this tells me, the electronics on this EFI boat are playing weird stuff on this Pet-2100 Tach.
    * Have any of you experienced this ?

    * I have ruled that the tach is good, its just not reading correctly on my EFI boat. Reads perfectly on my carb boat along with my other pet tach.

    Any ideas or similar occurences bruthas ?

    .


    .


  2. #2
    KamikazeGPR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    1,361
    +1
    99
    Ive only used my pet 2100 on my 2 efi 1300's, so i dont know how they react to carbed skis or 4 stroke skis or even 2 cylinder 2 strokes.

    I've always attached the clip to the black part closest to the electrical box on #2 as the instructions say. At idle on a cold ski it will idle in the low 1400's, when warm, it will drop into the 1300's. So your 1320 on the #2 plug wire near the box seems about right.

  3. #3
    Hydrotoys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    16,712
    +1
    85
    Billy,
    my first reaction, would be that you have an RF leakage from either your plug wires (it doesn't have to be much of a crack), a plug, a coil, or some other high-powered device that emits rf.

  4. #4
    Hydrotherapy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    The Rock
    Posts
    3,347
    +1
    17
    hey billy i got an extra one that did the same on mongoose's ski (gp1200) so i give it a try on my e.f.i and it did the same thing to the letter yours did..
    i know this is not a great help but just to let you know it happens to the units....


    paul

  5. #5
    spdracr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    422
    +1
    2
    Try using a solid core wire for your pet tach pick up wire the wire that comes with it has strands. Just a thought.

  6. #6
    Moderator RX951's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    League City, Texas
    Posts
    16,066
    +1
    23
    Thanks guys, I appreciate all the input !

    I will inspect, experiment and try those ideas. Thanks

  7. #7
    Haven't fallen yet. MJE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
    Posts
    467
    +1
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by spdracr View Post
    Try using a solid core wire for your pet tach pick up wire the wire that comes with it has strands. Just a thought.
    does a solid core wire solve the issue? I also have a jumping tach that will not give me an accurate reading. I am picking up a spool of both solid and stranded 18 awg wire and routing it to the 2nd plug. Is it best to just take several wraps around number 2?

    -Mike

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    214

    Try This

    It worked for me.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jetski Pics 022.jpg 
Views:	62 
Size:	850.1 KB 
ID:	28089  

  9. #9
    Mr Bill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Macon Georgia
    Posts
    451
    I did like Gipper. It worked!

  10. #10
    Hydrotherapy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    The Rock
    Posts
    3,347
    +1
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
    I did like Gipper. It worked!
    how comes it dont pick up all three signals...just asking as i need to understand

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Warranty on Pet 2100
    By davesgpr in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-31-2007, 01:22 PM
  2. ideas where to mount my pet 2100
    By Hydrotherapy in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-10-2007, 04:28 AM
  3. Pet 2100 dx problem
    By TheDome in forum Sea Doo How To & FAQs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-27-2006, 03:01 PM
  4. Pet 2100 tach
    By mtrager in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-05-2006, 06:01 PM
  5. PET 2100 wire lead seems too short...
    By jgustman in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-15-2006, 03:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •