Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

'97 SL 1050 Problem.

Hello to the forum, I am new to Personal Watercraft and have purchased a '97 SL 1050. I have put about three tanks of gas through it and have been impressed with the performance. During the last outing, my son was riding and the ski stopped suddenly. It would restart, but would only travel a short distance and then stop again. I towed it back in and could not determine what the problem was. I inspected the fuel water seperator and found no problem, it had plenty of fuel in the tank. The fuel lines are clear and the carbs appear to be getting plenty of fuel. I Looked at the spark plugs and since I am not experienced in the art of reading plugs, I replaced them. This improved the performance, in that it started and traveled, but it will intermittantly stop, as soon as the starter button is depressed, it will start and fly, it does not sputter, or act as if there were cylinders dropping out. Sometimes it will run like this, and there will be periods of as long as three or four minutes of flawless high speed operation and then it will just die out. Then, just as suddenly, it will only start and operate for twenty or thirty seconds. I just wanted to drop all of you a line to see what kind of suggestions you all have. I am starting to lean toward an electrical problem, possibly a CDI. I have read the posting that explains the PVL ignition box (mine is podded black) and the stator assembly. This engine appears to be completely stock. It was operating fine and then, Bam, it just started this. Sorry for the long winded description...any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

+1
    generator guy, WELCOME to the Green Hulk Forums!!!

The first thing I would check for is an engine seizure just to make sure it's not something big.
    Are you getting any flashing red lamps on the MFD?
    Does the MFD operate?
    Do you have to let it cool off before it re-starts?
    Does it seem to turn over just a little slow when restarting?