Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Flywheel removal

I'm in the process of pulling my engine apart and hit a snag; I can't figure out how to pull the flywheel. I was able to get the nut off but that's it. What's the secret to getting it off?

BTW, it's on a 750.

Roanoke, Va

There is a picture of a bolt grip puller. It works really well. You should be able to pick up one at any auto parts store, or sears. I used a snapon on as I used to be an auto mechanic. But you will need one set up for a three bolt puller, and not a two bolt.

thats what I was looking for. Thanks for the help

Jug Inspector
    Chicago Burbs
    Both Murray's and Autozone carry them. Depending on the store and who you're talking to it's called a universale harmonic balancer puller, or a chrysler harmonic balancer puller. $14. I use mine on all my toys.

Is there a trick to getting this flywheel off?

I have my anchor bolts in all the way and keep cranking on the threaded rod and the flywheel just isn't moving. I started bending the damn washers!

What am I missing/doing wrong?!

Here are some pictures to illustrate.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PICT0001.JPG 
Views:	99 
Size:	732.6 KB 
ID:	27705   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PICT0002.JPG 
Views:	86 
Size:	699.3 KB 
ID:	27706   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PICT0003.JPG 
Views:	78 
Size:	718.5 KB 
ID:	27707   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PICT0004.JPG 
Views:	74 
Size:	729.6 KB 
ID:	27708   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PICT0005.JPG 
Views:	84 
Size:	700.3 KB 
ID:	27709  

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    Cleveland OH