Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First time out

First time out

Well, tomorrow morning around 8am I am heading out for the 30 minute drive to the ramp.

Since this is my first time putting in, and i am doing it all by my onsies, does anyone have any techniques they use when launching by themselves?

Only ask cause i dont wanna make an idiot of myself. I know noone will be around, but i want it to go as smoothly as possible.

Only going to get one tank through it, but better than nothing at all.

+1
    I disconnect the ski and then back it in the water enough that the ski stays on the trailer, but just starts to float on the back end. Then i get out of my truck, sit on the ski and start it in reverse. Gently apply throttle and back off and tie the ski up. Then go pull my truck out and park it.

Have fun!

+1
    Carefull out there. There will be no one around if you get in trouble and the water is probably cold enough to kill in a short amount of time.

1. make shure the fuel sellector is set to ON. I've seen people kill a battery trying to restart a ski w/no fuel.

2. let someone know where you are going and when to expect you back.

3. bring a cell phone and have local rescue #s programed (not just pizza delivery).

Is this your first ski? -if yes, wait till there are others to ride with.

SHE IS FINALLY GETTING WET trust me you will not look like an idiot no matter what you do.
    I think you will actually be enveyed by alot of by standards.

oh yah don't forget to screw inn your drain plugs
    and never leave your keys or dess key unatended at any time.

have fun

another thing i think BRP gives you a video cassett to watch it covers pretty much all the basics

fill her up with the recommended fuel for us canadians it is called super gas, 91 octane

and it is good to go for the first time with someone with experiance for the first time lots of times you can meet these people at the ramp.