Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

95 polaris sl 750 help

Hello I am new to jet ski's but not to working on small motors (motorcycles and snowmobiles) I purchased a 95 sl 750 on a trailer for 250 dollars. It has been sitting for 3 years due to a failed bearing in the pump housing which trashed the prop and housing. I have parts coming for that. my question is about the motor. I drained all fuel filled with fresh. cleaned the plugs because they all appear to fire fine. 5 cranks of the engine later and she fired right up like she was never put away. It seems to run and idle fine but the cylinder near the rear of the boat stays cold. so i take it that it is getting no fuel. I cleaned the carb that was on that cylinder and the same. I have ordered a new fuel pump because of the issue with this motor running lean and burning up the cylinder by the front of the boat. I do not plan to run it in the water until it is installed. could the fuel pump be my issue for not getting the fuel to the first carb in line? or is there a different issue. I appreciate all help that everyone can give...... by the way all cylinders have compression. enough to blow your thumb off the hole. it also had a rebuild before the previous owner bought it. it has maybe 8 hours on it since the rebuild. I take it the rebuild was due to a hole in the cylinder.

+1
    Scott Welcome to the Hulk.
    Are you running it with a flush kit hooked up?
    If so than the PTO cylinder will run cool as it is the first to get water running (reverse flush). Is the thermostat installed? If not you need to crimp the outlet hose so water will get Thru the engine in the reverse direction.

Yes I am running it with the flush kit hooked up. as far as i know the thermostat is installed. where exactly do i look to see? and if i pull the plug as soon as i shut it off the plug is cold. would this also be because of the water running thru the flush kit?

Are you sure your getting spark to that plug?